Crash.Net GP2 News

Vote for your 2012 GP2 Driver of the Year

6 December 2012

The story of the 2012 GP2 Series championship was laid out at the very first feature race of the year at Sepang International Circuit in Malaysia: Luiz Razia won the race, but Davide Valsecchi came a close second. The battle was well and truly on between the Brazilian and the Italian, and between Arden and DAMS.

Valsecchi tried delivering an early knock-out blow with a hat-trick of back-to-back wins in consecutive weekends at Bahrain, but then his season started to falter allowing Razia's calm consistency to slowly cut the gap and finally put him ahead of Valsecchi in the later rounds of the championship. Valsecchi clawed his way back and the two were tied on points after Spa-Francochamps only for Valsecchi to make what proved to be a decisive break at Monza to clinch the championship at last.

While the title battle might have been an exclusive club, 2012 wasn't all about Valsecchi and Razia: the fight over third place was a free-for-all between the likes of Giedo van der Garde, Max Chilton and Lotus GP team mates Esteban Gutiérrez and James Calado. There were race wins for Tom Dillmann, Johnny Cecotto Jr., Jolyon Palmer, Josef Kral and Marcus Ericsson, a scene-stealing dream return for last year's title runner-up Luca Filippi, and great rookie seasons from James Calado and Felipe Nasr.

So who are you going to make your 2012 GP2 Series Driver of the Year against that backdrop of the season's exciting action? Will you follow the title and hand the accolade to the new champion Davide Valsecchi, or the runner-up Luiz Razia - or do you have someone else in mind entirely? Lots to think about, and here's your chance to let us know what your verdict is on the top 20 GP2 Series drivers in 2012 is. Simply rate each one out of ten, and once voting is complete we'll let you know how they all fared.

To start submitting your driver ratings, all you have to do is CLICK HERE.