Crash.Net GP2 News

GP2 Driver of the Year vote: 10th

19 December 2012

Top 10 GP2 Driver of the Year 2012:
10. Marcus Ericsson

Birthplace: Kumla, Sweden
Birthdate: September 2, 1990
Team: iSport International
2012 starts: 24
Poles: 0
Wins: 1
Podiums: 5
Fastest laps: 0
Championship points: 124
Championship position: 8th
Crash.net GP2 Driver of 2011 position: 6th

We're not entirely sure whether we're particularly impressed or simply nonplussed by Marcus Ericsson's 2012 season - and by placing him in tenth place in the 2012 GP2 Driver of the Year vote, it seems Crash.net readers rather share our ambivalence.

After all, Ericsson was touted as one of the championship contenders at the start of 2012, but he had a poor start to the season and then put in a very uneven up-and-down performance for the rest of the year. As a result, while he collected a famous victory in the feature race at historic Spa-Francorchamps he still ended up in an underwhelming eighth place in the championship. Maybe that's why he's dropped from sixth to tenth year-on-year in our Driver of the year standings.

And yet he's clearly done enough to impress others in the GP2 paddock, with the announcement that he's been signed by DAMS to follow in the footsteps of Romain Grosjean and Davide Valsecchi - possibly all the way to the GP2 title next season. If he does, then all our doubts will be proven to be entirely unfounded. But if he doesn't, he'll certainly never get a better chance. Make or break times coming up for the Swede.

Top 10 GP2 Driver of the Year 2012 results so far:

9. Max Chilton
10. Marcus Ericsson