GP2 »

Still time: vote for your 2013 GP2 Driver of the Year

CLICK HERE to rate each of the GP2 Series drivers out of ten for their 2013 performances...
Fabio Leimer won the first GP2 race of the 2013 season at Sepang, Malaysia in March and he duly went on to secure the championship seven and a half months later. But anyone thinking it was a simple matter of drawing a straight line between the start and the eventual outcome couldn't be more wrong.

Leimer far from had it all his own way, and indeed in the first half of the year is was someone else entirely who looked to be running away with the title. With seven podium finishes in the first 11 races of the year - including three wins along the way - it appeared that Rapax driver Stefano Colletti was unstoppable. And then suddenly, his forward momentum actually did stop dead. Just one more finish in the points (at the Nurburging) and after that, nothing for the rest of the year. Suddenly the game was afoot for the rest of the drivers.

Felipe Nasr had the early advantage in second place, but as the season progressed it was Leimer who became the most consistent force, finally pulling away from Sam Bird who proved to be his closest rival going into the final round of the year at Abu Dhabi. Bird's stall on the front row of the feature race grid sealed the title in Leimer's favour, but the Briton knuckled down and put in a gusty drive in the sprint race to secure Russian Time the team championship in its first year in the feeder series.

So will one of these drivers earn your plaudit for 2013? Does being champion automatically make Leimer the GP2 Driver of the Year in your eyes? Or will you side with Sam Bird and give him a commiseration prize for losing out? How about James Calado who just pipped Nasr for third place with victory in the final race of the season? Or maybe you want to recognise one of the many first time winners we've had in 2013, including Jon Lancaster, Robin Frijns, Nathanael Berthon, Adrian Quaife-Hobbs or Alexander Rossi?

That's a lot or proven talent you have to decide from right there. In total, we've given yo the chance to rate the top 20 drivers from this year's GP2 championship which includes everyone who has started from pole position and all the drivers who have stood on the top step of the podium in 2013. All you have to do is go through and rate each driver out of ten, with 1 meaning you thought that they had a poor season and 10 indicating that you felt that had put in an excellent or outstanding showing this season.

How you make your decision is entirely up to you - you can leave a few words of explanation in the Have Your Say section if you like, especially if you're seeking to sway your fellow voters before they cast their own vote. Once all the votes are in, we'll be back to report on how all your favourites fared and who the winner is, so don't miss out and risk leaving your favourite driver hanging, or you'll only have yourself to blame if someone else gets crowned GP2 Driver of the Year 2013!

Ready to start submitting your driver ratings? All you have to do is CLICK HERE...

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
2013 GP2 class photo on the start/finish line of Sepang International Circuit, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. (World Copyright: Alastair Staley/GP2 Series Media Service.)
Fabio Leimer (SUI, Racing Engineering) and Sam Bird (GBR, Russian Time) vie for the 2013 GP2 Series championship title. (World Copyright: Alastair Staley/GP2 Series Media Service.)
Fabio Leimer (SUI, Racing Engineering) celebrates becoming the 2013 GP2 Champion at Yas Marina Circuit, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates on Sunday, November 3 2013. (World Copyright: Alastair Staley/LAT Photographic.)
Mitch Evans (NZL, Arden International) leads the field into turn one on the opening lap of the Monaco feature race on Friday, May 24 2013. (World Copyright: Alastair Staley/GP2 Series Media Service.)
Charles Leclerc - PREMA Racing
Charles Leclerc, Prema Racing, F2, Formula 2, Bahrain
Charles Leclerc - PREMA Racing
Charles Leclerc - PREMA Racing
Charles Leclerc, Prema Racing, Formula 2, 2017
Alexander Albon - ART Grand Prix [GP2 Series]
Gustav Malja - Racing Engineering [credit: GP2 Series]
Pierre Gasly - PREMA Racing
Pierre Gasly - PREMA Racing
Pierre Gasly - PREMA Racing
Luca Ghiotto - Trident Racing [credit: GP2 Series]
Luca Ghiotto - Trident Racing [credit: GP2 Series]
Antonio Giovinazzi - Prema Racing [credit: GP2 Series]
Antonio Giovinazzi - Prema Racing [credit: GP2 Series]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.