Four drivers have received grid penalties for Friday's feature race in Monaco, the GP2 Series have announced.

All four drivers were penalised for impeding a competitor during the split qualifying session. Despite a maximum of only 13 cars on track at any given time, the cramped 2.075-mile, 19-turn Circuit de Monaco street circuit in Monte Carlo is nonetheless notorious for causing traffic jams.

Several drivers on flying laps lost out as they came up behind slow-moving cars trying to make a gap for their own fast laps, and after reviewing the session the GP2 race stewards have handed down four three-place grid drops to drivers who blocked others during qualifying.

The biggest casualty is Caterham's Rio Haryanto, who finished as the fastest driver in the second qualifying group and therefore had picked up a front row spot alongside pole winner Jolyon Palmer.

Haryanto was deemed to have impeded Stephane Richelmi at turn 18 during the session, The three-place grid penalty puts him back to fifth place on the feature race grid, and means that Russian Time's Mitch Evans is promoted to the front row.

The second row on Friday will now consist of Richelmi and Trident's Johnny Cecotto Jr.

Further back, both Hilmer Motorsport drivers have also been given penalties. In Daniel Abt's case it's for impeding Cecotto at turn 10 during the first qualifying group, while in Facu Regalia's case the offence was committed in turn 15 during the second group, with Cecotto's team mate Sergio Canamasas the impeded party.

Abt will now start from tenth place on Friday, while Regalia is demoted to 23rd place on the grid.

The final penalty of the day was handed out to Carlin's Felipe Nasr, who was found to have held up Cecotto in the final corner during their qualifying group. That drops Nasr down to 18th place on the feature race grid.

Finally, Russian Time rookie Artem Markelov also has to serve a penalty held over from the Barcelona sprint race where he tipped Simon Trummer's Rapax into a spin that then collected the Venezuela GP Lazarus of Conor Daly.

Markelov was to have served a five-place grid penalty at Monaco, but a poor qualifying had already left him in last place on the grid. As a result, the stewards have converted his original penalty into an enforced pit lane start on Friday.

The feature race is scheduled for 11.15am (10.15am BST) with 42 laps and a mandatory pit stop and tyre change; the sprint race is set for Saturday afternoon at 4.10pm (3.10pm BST) and will consist of 30 laps with no planned pit stops to manage. All sessions are available live in the UK on the Sky Sports F1 digital subscription channel.

Revised starting Grid

1. #7 Jolyon Palmer DAMS
2. #1 Mitch Evans Russian Time
3. #8 St?phane Richelmi DAMS
4. #23 Johnny Cecotto Jr. Trident
5. #18 Rio Haryanto * EQ8 Caterham Racing
6. #10 Stoffel Vandoorne ART Grand Prix
7. #6 Stefano Coletti Racing Engineering
8. #5 Raffaele Marciello Racing Engineering
9. #4 Julian Leal Carlin
10. #11 Daniel Abt * Hilmer Motorsport
11. #19 Alexander Rossi EQ8 Caterham Racing
12. #22 Sergio Canamasas Trident
13. #15 Simon Trummer Rapax
14. #26 Arthur Pic Campos Racing
15. #16 Rene Binder Arden International
16. #27 Kimiya Sato Campos Racing
17. #14 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs Rapax
18. #3 Felipe Nasr * Carlin
19. #21 Tio Ellinas MP Motorsport
20. #25 Conor Daly Venezuela GP Lazarus
21. #20 Daniel De Jong MP Motorsport
22. #17 Andr? Negrao Arden International
23. #12 Facu Regalia * Hilmer Motorsport
24. #24 Nathana?l Berthon Venezuela GP Lazarus
25. #9 Takuya Izawa ART Grand Prix
26. #2 Artem Markelov + Russian Time

* three-place grid penalty + required to start from pit lane


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment