Russian Time's Artem Markelov has been penalised for impeding the Racing Engineering car of Stefano Coletti during Friday afternoon qualifying at Spa-Francorchamps.

The incident happened midway through the half-hour session as the two cars went through turns 15 and 16.

As a result, Markelov was given a three-place grid drop for Saturday's 25-lap feature race. However since the Russian driver only qualified in 25th place and therefore cannot take the penalty in full, the penalty has been changed to an enforced pit lane start.

Another incident in which it appeared as though Carlin's Felipe Nasr cost his team mate Julian Leal four tenths of a second on his flying lap through the final corners did not result in any action by the stewards, meaning that Nasr retains his 11th place grid position for the first race of the weekend.

In a separate ruling, the stewards approved the inclusion of ART's Takuya Izawa in the race despite the Japanese driver failing to post a laptime within the required 107 per cent of the pole sitter. Izawa had spun out early in the session before he was able to post a flying lap time.

Izawa will start in last place on the grid, which means he will line up in 25th place because of Markelov starting from the pit lane.

In addition, Arden's Andr? Negrao has a five place grid penalty to serve from the last race in Hungary a month ago, in which he was deemed to have forced Simon Trummer off the track resulting in a collision between both drivers.

Revised GP2 feature race starting grid

1. Stoffel Vandoorne ART Grand Prix
2. Jolyon Palmer DAMS
3. Mitch Evans Russian Time
4. Raffaele Marciello Racing Engineering
5. Johnny Cecotto Jr. Trident
6. Julian Leal Carlin
7. Nathana?l Berthon Venezuela GP Lazarus
8. Simon Trummer Rapax
9. Marco Sorensen MP Motorsport
10. St?phane Richelmi DAMS
11. Felipe Nasr Carlin
12. Arthur Pic Campos Racing
13. Daniel De Jong MP Motorsport
14. Tom Dillmann EQ8 Caterham Racing
15. Conor Daly Venezuela GP Lazarus
16. Stefano Coletti Racing Engineering
17. Rene Binder Arden International
18. Daniel Abt Hilmer Motorsport
19. Rio Haryanto EQ8 Caterham Racing
20. Adrian Quaife-Hobbs Rapax
21. Kimiya Sato Campos Racing
22. Jon Lancaster Hilmer Motorsport
23. Sergio Canamasas Trident
24. Andr? Negrao * Arden International
25. Takuya Izawa ART Grand Prix

* Five place grid penalty held over from Hungary

Starting from pit lane Artem Markelov Russian Time


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment