Former F1 driver Roman Grosjean dominated throughout the qualifying session as he gave Dams the first pole position of the year, finishing 0.4s ahead of nearest rival Jules Bianchi in the Lotus ART.

Qualifying times

1. Romain Grosjean Dams 1m 36.041s (14 laps)
2. Jules Bianchi Lotus ART 1m 36.448s + 0.407s (15 laps)
3. Davide Valsecchi Team AirAsia 1m 36.501s + 0.460s (15 laps)
4. Dani Clos Racing Engineering 1m 36.614s + 0.573s (15 laps)
5. Giedo van der Garde Barwa Addax Team 1m 36.658s + 0.617s (13 laps)
6. Marcus Ericsson iSport International 1m 36.659s + 0.618s (13 laps)
7. Max Chilton Carlin 1m 36.693s + 0.652s (14 laps)
8. Josef Kral Arden International 1m 36.724s + 0.683s (13 laps)
9. Esteban Gutierrez Lotus ART 1m 36.741s + 0.700s (14 laps)
10. Nathanael Berthon Racing Engineering 1m 36.825s + 0.784s (15 laps)
11. Sam Bird iSport International 1m 36.830s + 0.789s (14 laps)
12. Michael Herck Scuderia Coloni 1m 36.863s + 0.822s (15 laps)
13. Oliver Turvey Ocean Racing Technology 1m 36.875s + 0.834s (14 laps)
14. Charles Pic Barwa Addax Team 1m 36.961s + 0.920s (13 laps)
15. Fabio Leimer Rapax 1m 37.047s + 1.006s (12 laps)
16. Johnny Cecotto Super Nova Racing 1m 37.129s + 1.088s (15 laps)
17. Julian Leal Rapax 1m 37.145s + 1.104s (16 laps)
18. Jolyon Palmer Arden International 1m 37.305s + 1.264s (14 laps)
19. Stefano Coletti Trident Racing 1m 37.329s + 1.288s (15 laps)
20. Andrea Caldarelli Ocean Racing Technology 1m 37.345s + 1.304s (15 laps)
21. Luiz Razia Team AirAsia 1m 37.426s + 1.385s (9 laps)
22. Mikhail Aleshin Carlin 1m 37.535s + 1.494s (11 laps) *
23. Fairuz Fauzy Super Nova Racing 1m 37.572s + 1.531s (14 laps) **
24. Pal Varhaug Dams 1m 37.632s + 1.591s (13 laps)
25. Rodolfo Gonzalez Trident Racing 1m 37.669s + 1.628s (10 laps)
26. James Jakes Scuderia Coloni 1m 37.741s + 1.700s (14 laps)

* Mikhail Aleshin was given a penalty for crossing the finish line more than once at the end of the morning practice session and will start from 24th position on the grid in the feature race.

** Fairuz Fauzy was deemed at fault for a collision with his Super Nova Racing team mate Johnny Cecotto Jr. and handed a ten grid position penalty that means he will start from the last position on the grid.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment