An exciting and incident-packed GP2 sprint race at the Hungaroring in Budapest, Hungary saw the weather wreak havoc on proceedings, with many of the usual front runners caught out while Stefano Coletti gambled on starting on slicks on a wet track and made them work where others couldn't.

Christian Vietoris had looked set for a commanding win on a track drying from earlier rain, but when the rain returned he was caught out and lost his front wing, after a spin at the chicane that nearly collected Romain Grosjean who was running in second place.

But no one could stop Coletti's inexorable and astonishing rise through the field and he took the lead after everyone was forced back into the pits for wet tyres and went on to a convincing win, while Romain Grosjean struggled to hold off Esteban Gutierrez for second place only to finally ran wide through the final corner to let the young Mexican steal the position at the line.

Race results

1. #21 Stefano Coletti Trident 45:53.864s + 131.670s (23 laps)
2. #6 Esteban Gutierrez Lotus ART 46:01.157s + 7.293s
3. #11 Romain Grosjean Dams 46:01.265s + 7.401s
4. #4 Giedo Van Der Garde Barwa Addax 46:05.459s + 11.595s
5. #9 Sam Bird iSport 46:08.388s + 14.524s
6. #5 Jules Bianchi Lotus ART 46:10.510s + 16.646s
7. #26 Luiz Razia Caterham Team AirAsia 46:11.017s + 17.153s
8. #22 Kevin Mirocha Ocean Racing Technology 46:11.704s + 17.840s
9. #20 Rodolfo Gonzalez Trident 46:13.466s + 19.602s
10. #8 Christian Vietoris Racing Engineering 46:25.941s + 32.077s
11. #1 Fabio Leimer Rapax 46:37.065s + 43.201s
12. #17 Adam Carroll Super Nova 46:42.894s + 49.030s
13. #3 Charles Pic Barwa Addax 46:53.443s + 59.579s
14. #27 Davide Valsecchi Caterham Team AirAsia 46:54.325s + 60.461s
15. #25 Mikhail Aleshin Carlin 46:57.236s + 63.372s
16. #10 Marcus Ericsson iSport 47:14.342s + 80.478s
17. #14 Josef Kral Arden 47:15.144s + 81.280s
18. #15 Jolyon Palmer Arden 42:24.417s (21 laps)


#23 Johnny Cecotto Jr. Ocean Racing Technology 38:51.867s (19 laps) #7 Dani Clos Racing Engineering 32:09.802s (16 laps) #2 Julian Leal Rapax 29:57.665s (15 laps) #12 Pal Varhaug Dams 25:59.635s (13 laps) #19 Luca Filippi Scuderia Coloni 26:01.275s (13 laps) #16 Fairuz Fauzy Super Nova 16:53.844s (8 laps) #24 Max Chilton Carlin 13:42.114s (7 laps) #18 Michael Herck Scuderia Coloni 2:23.501s (1 laps)

Fastest lap: Romain Grosjean, 1:47.730s on lap 13


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment