GP2 »

Sepang - Race results (2)

James Calado held off the initial attack from his team mate Esteban Gutiérrez into turn 1 to lead the Malaysian sprint race from lights to flag.
Britain's James Calado proved for a second time in his very short GP2 career to date that he knows just how to make the best use of pole position, riding his good fortune to a flawless first GP2 championship victory in the Malaysian GP2 sprint race at Sepang, to match the win he took in last year's GP2 Final exhibition weekend in similar fashion.

Race results

1. #9 James Calado Lotus GP 41:08.048s (22 laps)
2. #10 Esteban Gutiérrez Lotus GP + 2.004s
3. #4 Felipe Nasr DAMS + 3.440s
4. #12 Giedo Van Der Garde Caterham Racing + 10.760s
5. #23 Luiz Razia Arden International + 11.430s
6. #5 Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering + 14.689s
7. #26 Max Chilton Carlin + 15.685s
8. #6 Nathanael Berthon Racing Engineering + 16.578s
9. #2 Josef Král Barwa Addax Team + 18.175s
10. #27 Rio Haryanto Carlin + 24.033s
11. #21 Tom Dillmann Rapax + 24.086s
12. #8 Jolyon Palmer iSport International + 25.547s
13. #15 Fabio Onidi Scuderia Coloni + 32.206s
14. #25 Nigel Melker Ocean Racing Technology + 34.500s
15. #17 Julian Leal Trident Racing + 34.629s
16. #22 Simon Trummer Arden International + 35.226s
17. #24 Jon Lancaster Ocean Racing Technology + 40.340s
18. #11 Rodolfo González Caterham Racing + 44.700s
19. #16 Stephane Richelmi Trident Racing + 47.133s
20. #19 Giancarlo Serenelli Venezuela GP Lazarus + 70.466s
21. #18 Fabrizio Crestani Venezuela GP Lazarus + 81.035s
22. #1 Johnny Cecotto Barwa Addax Team + 1 lap
23. #14 Stefano Coletti Scuderia Coloni + 2 laps
24. #20 Ricardo Teixeira Rapax + 3 laps


#7 Marcus Ericsson iSport International 24:24.118s (13 laps)
#3 Davide Valsecchi DAMS 24:22.011s (13 laps)

GP2 Series championship standings

Drivers championship:

1. Luiz Razia 31 pts
2. Davide Valsecchi 24 pts
3. James Calado 19 pts
4. Esteban Gutiérrez 18 pts
5. Luiz Felipe Nasr 18 pts
6. Max Chilton 17 pts
7. Fabio Leimer 16 pts
8. Giedo van der Garde 10 pts
9. Stefano Coletti 10 pts
10. Rio Haryanto 2 pts
11. Nathanaël Berthon 1 pts
12. Fabrizio Crestani 1 pts
13. Josef Král 0 pts
14. Tom Dillmann 0 pts
15. Jolyon Palmer 0 pts
16. Fabio Onidi 0 pts
17. Marcus Ericsson 0 pts
18. Nigel Melker 0 pts
19. Julián Leal 0 pts
20. Simon Trummer 0 pts
21. Jon Lancaster 0 pts
22. Rodolfo Gonzalez 0 pts
23. Stéphane Richelmi 0 pts
24. Ricardo Teixeira 0 pts
24. Giancarlo Serenelli 0 pts
26. Johnny Cecotto Jr. 0 pts

Teams championship

1. DAMS 42 pts
2. Lotus GP 37 pts
3. Arden International 31 pts
4. Carlin 19 pts
5. Racing Engineering 17 pts
6. Caterham Racing 10 pts
7. Scuderia Coloni 10 pts
8. Venezuela GP Lazarus 1 pts
9. Barwa Addax Team 0 pts
10. Rapax 0 pts
11. iSport International 0 pts
12. Ocean Racing Technology 0 pts
13. Trident Racing 0 pts

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
James Calado (GBR, Lotus GP) celebrates his victory in the Malaysian sprint race on the podium with Esteban Gutierrez (MEX, Lotus GP). [World Copyright: Lorenzo Bellanca/GP2 Series Media Service.]
James Calado (GBR, Lotus GP) leads Esteban Gutierrez (MEX, Lotus GP) and the rest of the field through turn one on the opening lap of the Malaysian sprint race. [World Copyright: Glenn Dunbar/GP2 Series Media Service.]
Stefano Coletti (MON, Racing Engineering), Felipe Nasr (BRA, Carlin) & Stoffel Vandoorne (BEL, ART Grand Prix) on the podium at Hockenheimring, Hockenheim, Germany. Sunday 20 July 2014. (Photo: Sam Bloxham/GP2 Series Media Service.)
Start of Race 2 Felipe Nasr (BRA) Carlin leads
Felipe Nasr (BRA) Carlin
Felipe Nasr (BRA) Carlin
Felipe Nasr (BRA) Carlin
Felipe Nasr (BRA) Carlin
Felipe Nasr (BRA) Carlin
Felipe Nasr (BRA) Carlin
Felipe Nasr (BRA) Carlin
Felipe Nasr (BRA) Carlin
Felipe Nasr (BRA) Carlin
Felipe Nasr (BRA) Carlin
Felipe Nasr (BRA) Carlin
Felipe Nasr (BRA) Carlin
Felipe Nasr (BRA, Carlin) in action at Silverstone International Circuit, Silverstone, Northamptonshire, England Saturday 5 July 2014. (Photo: Ebrey/GP2 Series Media Service.)
Felipe Nasr (BRA, Carlin) celebrates in parc fermé at Silverstone International Circuit, Silverstone, Northamptonshire, England Sunday 6 July 2014. (Photo: Sam Bloxham/GP2 Series Media Service.)

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Parmar - Unregistered

June 07, 2012 4:18 AM

smboyce, thanks for the comnemt.I imagine like in most workplaces, BMW Sauber had a business as usual approach until the very last minute. BMW (the manufacturer)'s decision seems sudden, but my guess is that the BMW Sauber team was only aware of something distant before this week, but were issued with an ultimatum of sorts for the Hungarian GP? It's possible. I just think in the light of recent events, some of what BMW did at Hungary seems to make more sense. Of course, I could always be reading too much into it!

© 1999 - 2014 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.