GP2 »

Bahrain 2 - Race results (1)

Davide Valsecchi continued his impressive domination of 2012's GP2 races at Bahrain International Circuit, breezing to victory again ahead of Fabio Leimer and Giedo van der Garde.
Davide Valsecchi had a comfortable win in the second feature race of the year at Bahrain International Circuit in Sakhir. He slotted into second place at the start behind polesitter Giedo van der Garde and then relied on the DAMS being kinder to its tyres than the Caterham to allow him to wait until just before the mandatory pit stops before time his move to the front to perfection. After that, there was nothing to stop him pulling out an ever-increasing lead.

Starting on the harder option tyres, Racing Engineering's Fabio Leimer was able to pass van der Garde for second place just a few minutes after Valsecchi took the lead, although he could do nothing about the Italian's domination.

There was much more entertaining action further back, which saw Arden's Luiz Razia get the better of a slow-starting Max Chilton for fourth place, and Rio Haryanto recover from a poor getaway from the starting grid to finish just behind his Carlin team mate. Valsecchi's rookie DAMS team mate Felipe Nasr once again shone over the closing laps, making the move of the race when he passed Esteban Gutierrez (Lotus GP) and Fabrizio Crestani (Lazarus) in a single move on lap 19 on his way to seventh place. However he lost a provisional front row start in the sprint race after receiving a 20s drive-thru penalty for ignoring yellow flags during today's action.

Pole for the sprint race will now go to Tom Dillmann. Alongside him on the front row will be iSport's Marcus Ericsson, who had a brilliant start to fly into fourth place but struggled on excessively worn tyres in the final stages of the feature race and slid down the order before the end.

Race results

1. Davide Valsecchi DAMS 57m35.088s
2. Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering + 7.711s
3. Giedo van der Garde Caterham Racing + 14.824s
4. Luiz Razia Arden + 24.142s
5. Max Chilton Carlin + 24.705s
6. Rio Haryanto Carlin + 40.965s
7. Marcus Ericsson iSport + 50.645s
8. Tom Dillmann Rapax + 52.522s
9. Johnny Cecotto Addax + 55.578s
10. Esteban Gutierrez Lotus GP + 56.211s
11. Felipe Nasr DAMS + 1m05.772s *
12. Nathanael Berthon Racing Engineering + 1m06.906s
13. Brendon Hartley Ocean Racing + 1m07.254s
14. Simon Trummer Arden + 1m15.486s
15. Julian Leal Trident Racing + 1m16.363s
16. James Calado Lotus GP + 1m20.506s
17. Stephane Richelmi Trident Racing + 1m21.441s
18. Rodolfo Gonzalez Caterham + 1m29.206s *
19. Nigel Melker Ocean Racing + 1m29.955s
20. Fabio Onidi Coloni + 1m47.146s
21. Stefano Coletti Coloni +1 lap
22. Giancarlo Serenelli Lazarus +1 lap
23. Ricardo Teixeira Rapax +1 lap


Jolyon Palmer iSport after 30 laps
Fabrizio Crestani Lazarus after 24 laps **
Dani Clos Addax after 8 laps

* = includes 20s post-race penalty for ignoring yellow flags
** = handed five place grid penalty for ignoring yellow flags

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Giedo Van der Garde (NED, Caterham Racing) on track in Bahrain [World Copyright: Alastair Staley/GP2 Media Service.]
Fabio Leimer (SUI, Racing Engineering) prepares for the first qualifying session at Bahrain. [World Copyright: Alastair Staley/GP2 Media Service.]
Davide Valsecchi (ITA, Dams) celebrates his victory in the Sunday sprint race at Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir, Bahrain. 22nd April. [World Copyright: Alastair Staley/GP2 Media Service.]
Nobuharu Matsushita - ART Grand Prix [credit: Formula 2]
Charles Leclerc - PREMA Racing
Charles Leclerc, Prema Racing, F2, Formula 2, Bahrain
Charles Leclerc - PREMA Racing
Charles Leclerc - PREMA Racing
Artem Markelov, F2, Bahrain
Artem Markelov
Norman Nato, Bahrain F2 2017, Formula 2
Charles Leclerc, Prema Racing, Formula 2, 2017
Nabil Jeffri, Team Trident [Credit: Team Trident]
Alexander Albon - ART Grand Prix [GP2 Series]
Gustav Malja - Racing Engineering [credit: GP2 Series]
Pierre Gasly - PREMA Racing
Alex Lynn - DAMS
Pierre Gasly - PREMA Racing

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.