Fully wet and rapidly deteriorating conditions greeted the GP2 field for Friday practice at Silverstone commencing just before noon on a gloomy Friday, meaning that small moments, spins, run-offs and other scares were the order of the day. James Calado and Dani?l de Jong were early examples, before Ricardo Teixeria lost the back end of the Rapax out of the final corner and stalled the car to bring out the first brief red flag seven minutes into the session.

At the resumption, Rodolfo Gonzalez beached his Caterham in the gravel on the exit of Chapel and both Johnny Cecotto Jr. and Stefano Coletti had moments exiting Club, but it was a spin by Fabio Onidi out of Aintree that triggered the second appearance of red flags shortly after the midway point of the session. Pit exit reopened with seven minutes to go but track activity was quickly terminated for a third and final time for a spin by Victor Guerin out of the increasingly treacherous corner that left the Ocean Racing car stalled and pointing the wrong direction.

Many drivers either didn't get out or didn't get a chance to run a clean lap. In any case, the drenched conditions made the times irrelevant - as evidenced by Venezuela Lazarus GP's Fabrizio Crestani setting the fastest lap of the session with a 2:23.035s compared with last year's pole position time of 1:58.531s by Jules Bianchi for Lotus ART.

Practice times

1. #18 Fabrizio Crestani Venezuela Lazarus GP 2.23.035s (4 laps)
2. #10 Esteban Guti?rrez Lotus GP 2:24.207s + 1.172s (4 laps)
3. #26 Max Chilton Carlin 2:25.228s + 2.193s (3 laps)
4. #9 James Calado Lotus GP 2:25.386s + 2.351s (3 laps)
5. #25 Nigel Melker Ocean Racing 2:25.934s + 2.899s (4 laps)
6. #17 Julian Leal Trident Racing 2:25.952s + 2.917s (5 laps)
7. #4 Felipe Nasr DAMS 2:26.081s + 3.046s (5 laps)
8. #27 Rio Haryanto Carlin 2:26.380s + 3.345s (3 laps)
9. #23 Luiz Razia Arden 2:26.676s + 3.641s (5 laps)
10. #5 Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering 2:26.900s + 3.865s (4 laps)
11. #1 Johnny Cecotto Jr. Barwa Addax 2:26.595s + 3.924s (3 laps)
12. #7 Marcus Ericsson iSport 2:27.814s + 4.779s (3 laps)
13. #3 Davide Valsecchi DAMS 2:28.704s + 5.669s (5 laps)
14. #6 Nathanael Berthon Racing Engineering 2:29.220s + 6.185s (3 laps)
15. #8 Jolyon Palmer iSport 2:32.016s + 8.981s (3 laps)
16. #24 Victor Guerin Ocean Racing 2:32.097s + 9.062s (3 laps)
17. #22 Simon Trummer Arden 2:32.598s + 9.563s (4 laps)
18. #21 Dani?l de Jong Rapax 2:33.027s + 9.992s (5 laps)
19. #15 Fabio Onidi Scuderia Coloni 2:34.573s + 11.583s (4 laps)
20. #16 Stephane Richelmi Trident Racing 2:35.095s + 12.060s (4 laps)
21. #19 Giancarlo Serenelli Venezuela Lazarus GP 2:41.346s + 18.311s (3 laps)
22. #2 Josef Kral Barwa Addax 2:45.872s + 22.837s (3 laps)
23. #14 Stefano Coletti Scuderia Coloni No time (2 laps)
24. #20 Ricardo Teixeria Rapax No time (1 laps)
25. #12 Giedo van der Garde Caterham Racing No time (0 laps)
26. #11 Rodolfo Gonzalez Caterham Racing No time (0 laps)


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment