A failure to pit ahead of a safety car period by polesitter and longtime race leader Fabio Leimer proved disastrous for the Racing Engineering driver, and handed victory in the Silverstone feature race to Lotus GP's Esteban Guti?rrez ahead of Barwa Addax's Johnny Cecotto Jr.

The race - already delayed by over two hours because of the extended red flag in F1 qualifying earlier in the afternoon - started with seven laps behind the safety car, during which time Rapax's Dani?l de Jong managed to rear-end Rodolfo Gonzalez's car while unsighted by the spray thrown up by the Caterham.

Once unleashed on a still-soaked track there were a predictable number of thrills and spills as cars found it difficult to stay on track, but to their credit the GP2 drivers avoided any major incidents: the only further safety car periods were for James Calado (Lotus GP) stopping with a seemingly loose left-rear wheel after a pit stop, and Stefano Coletti (Coloni) who crashed at Chapel after he gambled on switching to slicks.

Caterham's Giedo van der Garde finished in eighth and will start Sunday's sprint race from pole position alongside DAMS' Davide Valsecchi who worked his way up to seventh place on Saturday after starting from the back row of the grid following a penalty for a technical infringement in qualifying.

Race results

1. #10 Esteban Guti?rrez Lotus GP 1:00:22.657s (25 laps)
2. #1 Johnny Cecotto Jr. Barwa Addax + 1.700s
3. #8 Jolyon Palmer iSport + 5.257s
4. #25 Nigel Melker Ocean Racing + 6.368s
5. #23 Luiz Razia Arden + 6.523s
6. #4 Felipe Nasr DAMS + 7.552s
7. #3 Davide Valsecchi DAMS + 9.051s
8. #12 Giedo van der Garde Caterham Racing + 9.841s
9. #26 Max Chilton Carlin + 11.116s
10. #27 Rio Haryanto Carlin + 11.958s
11. #18 Fabrizio Crestani Venezuela Lazarus GP + 12.130s
12. #6 Nathanael Berthon Racing Engineering + 12.843s
13. #16 Stephane Richelmi Trident Racing + 15.701s
14. #5 Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering + 16.421s
15. #22 Simon Trummer Arden + 16.818s
16. #2 Josef Kral Barwa Addax + 17.833s
17. #24 Victor Guerin Ocean Racing + 18.167s
18. #20 Ricardo Teixeria Rapax + 23.183s
19. #19 Giancarlo Serenelli Venezuela Lazarus GP + 24.345s
20. #17 Julian Leal Trident Racing + 38.351s
21. #7 Marcus Ericsson iSport + 39.831s
22. #15 Fabio Onidi Scuderia Coloni + 44.982s *
23. #11 Rodolfo Gonzalez Caterham Racing + 2 laps


#14 Stefano Coletti Scuderia Coloni (13 laps) #9 James Calado Lotus GP (17 laps) #21 Dani?l de Jong Rapax (1 lap)

* includes 30s penalty for overtaking under safety car conditions


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment