Crash.Net GP2 News

Spa - Race results (1)

1 September 2012

iSport's Marcus Ericsson emerged victorious over Lotus GP's James Calado at the end of the longest GP2 race in the series' history, after a red flag stoppage lasting an hour following a head-on crash into the tyre wall at Eau Rouge for Nigel Melker.

The high-speed impact did extensive damage to the tyre wall that took some time to repair, and resumption of the race was further delayed by the need to wait for the return of the medical helicopter to the circuit. Melker was reported to have been released from hospital and was back in his hotel in the evening, but will not take part in Sunday's sprint race because of the damage to the car.

The Spa feature race was eventful throughout, with numerous in-track incidents that included Rio Haryanto spinning out on cold tyres behind the safety car and having to work hard to battle back through the field. A number of collisions kept the race stewards late, but the only penalty announced was a four-place drop on the sprint race grid for Venezuela GP Lazarus driver Sergio Canamasas for causing a dangerous contact with Racing Engineering's Nathanaël Berthon.

Feature race 1 results

1. #7 Marcus Ericsson iSport 1:55:36.519s (25 laps)
2. #9 James Calado Lotus GP + 11.530s
3. #3 Davide Valsecchi DAMS + 13.604s
4. #2 Josef Král Barwa Addax + 15.098s
5. #12 Giedo van der Garde Caterham Racing + 15.482s
6. #23 Luiz Razia Arden + 16.903s
7. #17 Julián Leal Trident Racing + 26.615s
8. #4 Felipe Nasr DAMS + 28.903s
9. #16 Stéphane Richelmi Trident Racing + 29.230s
10. #27 Rio Haryanto Carlin + 29.568s
11. #10 Esteban Gutiérrez Lotus GP + 31.182s
12. #26 Max Chilton Carlin + 32.160s
13. #21 Daniel de Jong Rapax + 37.340s
14. #6 Nathanaël Berthon Racing Engineering + 39.130s
15. #22 Simon Trummer Arden + 49.936s
16. #15 Fabio Onidi Scuderia Coloni + 54.918s
17. #1 Johnny Cecotto Jr. Barwa Addax + 58.788s
18. #20 Ricardo Teixeira Rapax + 1:25.639s
19. #19 René Binder Venezuela GP Lazarus + 1 laps
20. #14 Stefano Coletti Scuderia Coloni (not running)


#24 Victor Guerin Ocean Racing Technology (retirement on lap 21)
#8 Jolyon Palmer iSport (collision on lap 18)
#18 Sergio Canamasas Venezuela GP Lazarus (collision on lap 11)
#25 Nigel Melker Ocean Racing Technology (spun off on lap 2)
#5 Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering (retirement on lap 0)
#11 Rodolfo González Caterham Racing (retirement on lap 0)

Fastest lap: 2:00.083s, by Esteban Gutiérrez on lap 12