A solid start in Sakhir from pole sitter Fabio Leimer allowed the Swiss driver to fend off a strong early challenge from Stefano Coletti, and after that it was relatively plain sailing for him through to the chequered flag at the end of the Bahrain feature race, a victory that puts him into the joint lead of the 2013 GP2 title battle.

Coletti held on to second place to keep his own championship hopes on track, while Caterham Racing's new driver Alexander Rossi performed impressively to clinch a podium in his first series race outing ahead of the feisty Carlin duo of Felipe Nasr and Jolyon Palmer.

Sam Bird held on despite badly worn tyres to claim sixth place for Russian Time, while MP Motorsports' Adrian Quaife-Hobbs - who had led the middle section of the race on an alternate pit stop strategy to that of Leimer and Coletti - was able to fend off serious pressure from Bird's team mate Tom Dillmann for seventh, leaving the Frenchman with the consolation prize of the sprint race pole under the reverse grid rules.

Feature race results

1. #8 Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering 57:21.528s (32 laps)
2. #18 Stefano Coletti Rapax + 1.929s
3. #15 Alexander Rossi Caterham Racing + 9.03s
4. #9 Felipe Nasr Carlin + 9.498s
5. #10 Jolyon Palmer Carlin + 15.037s
6. #11 Sam Bird Russian Time + 28.518s
7. #26 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs MP Motorsport + 33.067s
8. #12 Tom Dillmann Russian Time + 33.589s
9. #19 Simon Trummer Rapax + 36.246s
10. #5 Johnny Cecotto Jr. Arden + 37.459s
11. #21 Kevin Ceccon Trident Racing + 42.502s
12. #3 James Calado ART GP + 48.084s
13. #1 Marcus Ericsson DAMS + 48.709s
14. #4 Daniel Abt ART GP + 53.482s
15. #17 Rio Haryanto Barwa Addax + 59.146s
16. #16 Jake Rosenzweig Barwa Addax + 1:05.997s
17. #20 Nathana?l Berthon Trident Racing + 1:10.696s
18. #24 Rene Binder Venezuela GP Lazarus + 1:11.776s
19. #7 Juli?n Leal Racing Engineering + 1:19.886s
20. #14 Sergio Canamasas Caterham Racing + 1:20.456s
21. #22 Robin Frijns Hilmer Motorsport + 1 laps

Did not finish

#25 Kevin Giovesi Venezuela GP Lazarus (retirement on lap 27) #6 Mitch Evans Arden (retirement on lap 25) #2 St?phane Richelmi DAMS (collision on lap 20) #23 Pal Varhaug Hilmer Motorsport (retirement on lap 4) #27 Dani?l de Jong MP Motorsport (retirement on lap 1)

Fastest lap

Juli?n Leal Racing Engineering 1:43.889s on lap 24