Crash.Net GP2 News

GP2 Bahrain 2013: Sprint race results

21 April 2013

Russian Time had pole position for the Sunday sprint race in Bahrain and duly went on to the win the race, but they swapped drivers around in the process. It was Sam Bird and not his young team mate Tom Dillmann who brought home the first victory for the feeder series' youngest team.

Pole man Dillmann dropped out of the top three early in the second Sakhir race, and the Frenchman subsequently had a lonely time of it on his way to fourth place, while Sam Bird took over the lead and ran comfortably ahead of Stefano Coletti (Rapax) and Felipe Nasr (Carlin) for the majority of the race.

Late tyre wear issues helped spiced up the end of a race that had become somewhat processional, leaving Bird hanging on to the lead for dear life as lost second place by locking up and running wide at the end of the penultimate lap. Nasr seized his chance and did everything he could to hunt down Bird for the win in the remaining 3.363-mile, 15-turn lap of the Bahrain International Circuit but he finally fell short by mere inches at the line.

A first corner collision for Fabio Leimer hampered his sprint performance for the rest of Sunday morning and left him out of the points, meaning Coletti now resumes a ten point solo lead in the drivers championship, although in the team standings Rapax have just two points in hand over Carlin (see full details.)

Sprint race results

1. #11 Sam Bird Russian Time 41:08.133s (23 laps)
2. #9 Felipe Nasr Carlin + 0.08s
3. #18 Stefano Coletti Rapax + 4.206s
4. #12 Tom Dillmann Russian Time + 10.328s
5. #3 James Calado ART GP + 19.713s
6. #10 Jolyon Palmer Carlin + 21.773s
7. #4 Daniel Abt ART GP + 24.108s
8. #26 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs MP Motorsport + 27.722s
9. #8 Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering + 27.894s
10. #21 Kevin Ceccon Trident Racing + 27.997s
11. #14 Sergio Canamasas Caterham Racing + 28.601s
12. #5 Johnny Cecotto Jr. Arden + 35.477s
13. #2 Stéphane Richelmi DAMS + 35.858s
14. #19 Simon Trummer Rapax + 36.346s
15. #6 Mitch Evans Arden + 36.95s
16. #7 Julián Leal Racing Engineering + 37.671s
17. #25 Kevin Giovesi Venezuela GP Lazarus + 41.248s
18. #27 Daniël de Jong MP Motorsport + 44.757s
19. #16 Jake Rosenzweig Barwa Addax + 47.006s
20. #15 Alexander Rossi Caterham Racing + 52.044s
21. #23 Pal Varhaug Hilmer Motorsport + 54.74s
22. #20 Nathanaël Berthon Trident Racing + 55.332s
23. #22 Robin Frijns Hilmer Motorsport + 1:02.964s
24. #17 Rio Haryanto Barwa Addax + 1:17.388s
25. #24 Rene Binder Venezuela GP Lazarus + 1 laps

Did not finish

#1 Marcus Ericsson DAMS (retirement on lap 5)