Conditions remained overcast into the afternoon qualifying session at the Nurburgring, with the air and track temperatures only slightly warmer than they had been for practice but the circuit remaining dry having avoided any precipitation from some nasty looking black clouds that had passed close-by.

The Rapax drivers of Simon Trummer and Stefano Coletti continued their habit of being at the head of pit lane exit for several minutes before the lights went green, and Coletti duly set the first flaying lap of the session with a time of 1:39.274s despite hitting traffic along the way. That opened the window for DAMS' St?phane Richelmi to shave off a further tenth off his fellow Monegasque's time. Also flying was Carlin's Felipe Nasr who slipped into the top spot with a time of 1:39.072s, which Richelmi missed beating by eight hundredths of a second on his next attempt.

DAMS' Marcus Ericsson became the next provisional pole holder with a time of 1:38.763s which was 0.067s faster than Robin Frijns could manage in the Hilmer Motorsport #22, while behind Nasr fast laps for ART's James Calado and Russian Time's Sam Bird slipped them into the top six ahead of Richelmi before the usual mid-session lull in proceedings for fresh tyres and set-up tweaks. Coletti was first back out in order to take advantage of the quiet track but he seemed unable to improve on his existing eighth place effort.

With eight minutes remaining in the session all cars were back out in track and in the hunt, and soon Arden's Mitch Evans shot up into third spot with a time of 1:38.348s and Fabio Leimer put the Racing Enginering car into fifth just ahead of a stunning lap from Adrian Quaife-Hobbs in the MP Motorsport car all of which dropped Calado and Bird down to seventh and eighth. Just when it looked like Ericsson's pole time was safe, Stephane Richelmi punched in a lap of 1:38.487s to go top over a quarter of a second clear of his team mate to make it an all-DAMS front-row lockout for the Saturday afternoon feature race ahead of Frijns and Evans.

Qualifying times

1. #2 St?phane Richelmi DAMS 1:38.487s 116.926mph (11 laps)
2. #1 Marcus Ericsson DAMS 1:38.763s 116.600mph + 0.276s (11 laps)
3. #22 Robin Frijns Hilmer Motorsport 1:38.804s 116.551mph + 0.317s (12 laps)
4. #6 Mitch Evans Arden 1:38.848s 116.499mph + 0.361s (14 laps)
5. #9 Felipe Nasr Carlin 1:38.897s 116.441mph + 0.410s (12 laps)
6. #8 Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering 1:38.997s 116.324mph + 0.510s (11 laps)
7. #26 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs MP Motorsport 1:39.006s 116.313mph + 0.519s (12 laps)
8. #3 James Calado ART GP 1:39.018s 116.299mph + 0.531s (10 laps)
9. #11 Sam Bird Russian Time 1:39.089s 116.216mph + 0.602s (12 laps)
10. #12 Tom Dillmann Russian Time 1:39.186s 116.102mph + 0.699s (10 laps)
11. #10 Jolyon Palmer Carlin 1:39.193s 116.094mph + 0.706s (13 laps)
12. #24 Rene Binder Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:39.243s 116.035mph + 0.756s (11 laps)
13. #18 Stefano Coletti Rapax 1:39.274s 115.999mph + 0.787s (13 laps)
14. #15 Alexander Rossi EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:39.320s 115.945mph + 0.833s (13 laps)
15. #25 Fabio Crestani Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:39.374s 115.883mph + 0.887s (10 laps)
16. #23 Jon Lancaster Hilmer Motorsport 1:39.379s 115.877mph + 0.892s (12 laps)
17. #14 Sergio Canamasas EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:39.465s 115.776mph + 0.978s (13 laps)
18. #27 Dani?l de Jong MP Motorsport 1:39.503s 115.732mph + 1.016s (14 laps)
19. #5 Johnny Cecotto Jr. Arden 1:39.723s 115.477mph + 1.236s (14 laps)
20. #17 Rio Haryanto Barwa Addax 1:39.780s 115.411mph + 1.293s (12 laps)
21. #20 Nathana?l Berthon Trident Racing 1:39.792s 115.397mph + 1.305s (12 laps)
22. #4 Daniel Abt ART GP 1:39.813s 115.373mph + 1.326s (11 laps)
23. #21 Kevin Ceccon Trident Racing 1:39.876s 115.300mph + 1.389s (12 laps)
24. #7 Juli?n Leal Racing Engineering 1:39.986s 115.173mph + 1.499s (14 laps)
25. #16 Jake Rosenzweig Barwa Addax 1:40.064s 115.084mph + 1.577s (12 laps)
26. #19 Simon Trummer Rapax 1:40.311s 114.800mph + 1.824s (14 laps)

Total Laps: 315 Q1 107% time: 1:45.381s