Russian Time's Sam Bird was celebrating on top of the GP2 podium for the fourth time in 2013 after putting in an unbeatable run from pole position to claim victory in the feature race at the historic Spa-Francorchamps circuit in Saturday afternoon.

The race remained dry after the earlier dramas of F1 qualifying, and once Bird saw off an initial strike from ART's James Calado in the first run through La Source, little seemed to threaten his ultimate victory. He was out of the lead for nine of the 25 laps thanks to Simon Trummer (Rapax) opting to leave his mandatory pit stop until the end of the penultimate lap of the race, but Bird's victory was never in doubt.

The winner finished seven seconds ahead of DAMS' Marcus Ericsson, while Alexander Rossi was able to bring home third place for Caterham even though his team mate Sergio Canamasas had earlier crashed out with rear brake failure six laps from the finish. Daniel de Jong also crashed after suffering a puncture on lap 4 while defending from Barwa Addax driver Rio Haryanto, putting the MP Motorsports car into a heavy hit with the tyres at Eau Rouge to bring out the sole safety car of the event.

Feature race results

1. #11 Sam Bird Russian Time 52:55.642s (25 laps)
2. #1 Marcus Ericsson DAMS + 7.001s
3. #15 Alexander Rossi EQ8 Caterham Racing + 8.242s
4. #8 Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering + 13.950s
5. #12 Tom Dillmann Russian Time + 15.353s
6. #7 Juli?n Leal Racing Engineering + 18.643s
7. #2 St?phane Richelmi DAMS + 26.086s
8. #3 James Calado ART GP + 27.559s
9. #23 Robin Frijns Hilmer Motorsport + 28.425s
10. #22 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs Hilmer Motorsport + 30.497s
11. #6 Mitch Evans Arden + 33.190s
12. #19 Simon Trummer Rapax + 33.341s
13. #18 Stefano Coletti Rapax + 33.837s
14. #5 Johnny Cecotto Jr. Arden + 48.970s
15. #10 Jolyon Palmer Carlin + 49.347s
16. #4 Daniel Abt ART GP + 52.471s
17. #16 Jake Rosenzweig Barwa Addax + 57.102s
18. #25 Vittorio Ghirelli Venezuela GP Lazarus + 57.982s
19. #17 Rio Haryanto Barwa Addax + 63.628s
20. #26 Dani Clos MP Motorsport + 80.316s
21. #21 Ricardo Teixeira Trident Racing + 87.365s
22. #20 Nathana?l Berthon Trident Racing + 88.885s

Retirements #14 Sergio Canamasas EQ8 Caterham Racing (retired on lap 19) #9 Felipe Nasr Carlin (retired on lap 5) #27 Dani?l de Jong MP Motorsport (retired on lap 3) #24 Rene Binder Venezuela GP Lazarus (retired at start)

Fastest lap #12 Tom Dillmann Russian Time 1:59.644 (130.950mph) on lap 19