After struggling with brake problems throughout practice, Jon Fogarty went out and shattered the Watkins Glen International short course qualifying record, capturing the pole position for the Crown Royal 200.

After breaking the record five minutes into the session, Fogarty backed it up with a lap of 1min 05.069secs to solidify his third pole position of the season in the #99 GAINSCO Pontiac Riley. He will be joined on the front row by Memo Rojas, who ran a lap of 1min 05.315secs.

Rojas was bidding for his fourth pole of the campaign in the #01 TELMEX Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates Lexus Riley co-driven by Scott Pruett.

"We spent the day diagnosing some brake problems," said Fogarty, who collected his third pole of the season. "We eventually changed the entire braking system. Fortunately, we were granted two hardship laps by Grand-Am, and I was able to jump in and focus on going fast."

The GAINSCO and Ganassi drivers are tied for the Daytona Prototype point lead with 216 points each - one point ahead of #10 SunTrust Ford Dallara drivers Brian Frisselle and Max Angelelli, who will start third.

Frisselle ran a lap of 1min 05.326secs, and will be joined on the second row by his brother, Burt Frisselle, who ran 1min 05.336secs in the #61 AIM Autosport Ford Riley. Brian Frisselle and Mark Wilkins won the 2008 Glen event in the #61 entry, leading all but three laps. Wilkins will co-drive that car with Burt Frisselle in Friday's race.

Timo Bernhard and Ricky Taylor will start in the third row, both seeking their first victory of the season. Bernhard co-drives the #12 Verizon Wireless Porsche Riley with Romain Dumas, while Taylor shares the #13 Lennox/Brach's Chevrolet Riley with Mike Forest.

Darren Law, Nic J?nsson, Rob Finlay and Mark Patterson rounded out the top ten qualifiers.

Buddy Rice was originally the fifth fastest in the #90 AMA Porsche Coyote, but his time was disallowed when the car was found to be too wide in post-qualifying inspection. Rice and Antonio Garcia will start at the back of the Daytona Prototype grid.

Leh Keen waited until late in qualifying to second his second Acxiom GT pole of the season in the #87 Farnbacher Loles Porsche GT3. Keen and co-driver Dirk Werner have four victories this season and have a 25-point lead (247-222) in the standings.

Andrew Davis secured the front row outside starting spot after Tom Sutherland had his qualifying time disallowed. Sutherland ran a lap of 1min 12.139secs in the #30 Click-Away Computers/ Mazda RX-8 co-driven by Dane Cameron, but the car was found to be too low in post-qualifying inspection.

Davis ran a time of 1min 12.576secs in the #57 BryanMark Financial/Stevenson Automotive Pontiac GXP.R co-driven by Robin Liddell.

Sharing the second row will be Eric Lux in the #86 Farnbacher Loles Porsche GT3 with a time of 1min 12.667secs and Joe Foster in the #40 Dempsey Racing Mazda RX-8.

Defending GT class champion Paul Edwards will miss Friday's race due to a shoulder injury suffered in a mountain bike training accident. Team owner Leighton Reese qualified seventh in the #07 Drinkin' Mate Pontiac GXP.R co-driven by Kelly Collins. It marks the first race Edwards will miss in Rolex Series competition since the Brumos Porsche 250 in 2005.

Wayne Nonnamaker was uninjured in a practice accident Thursday afternoon, but the #43 Team Sahlen Corvette will not compete in the event.