Vic Elford, one of the most versatile drivers in racing history and winner of the 1968 Rolex 24 At Daytona, will serve as Grand Marshal for the 48th anniversary of the event in January.

Elford will give the command, 'Drivers, start your engines' for the event, which will again act as the opening round of the Grand Am Rolex Series season.

Behind the wheel of a Porsche 907, Elford, along with Germans Jochen Neerpasch and Rolf Stommelen and Switzerland's Jo Siffert, won the 1968 Rolex 24 overall title, which was the first of Porsche's record 21 overall Rolex 24 victories.

Elford was also an established rally driver winning the prestigious Monte Carlo Rally as well as the European Rally Championship. In addition to rallying and sports car racing, where he notched victories as Nurburgring and Targa Florio, Elford also competed in Formula One and NASCAR.

"Vic Elford has a long list of motorsports accomplishments and we're honored that he will serve as Grand Marshal for the 2010 Rolex 24 At Daytona," Daytona Motor Speedway chief Robin Braig said. "The Rolex 24 showcases the world's greatest drivers from different driving disciplines taking on the ultimate test of driver and machine.

"With his diverse motorsports background, it's only fitting to have a racing legend such as Vic Elford give the starting command and take part in all the other festivities that come with the Rolex 24."

Elford will join a long list of racing legends who have served as Grand Marshal for the Rolex 24 At Daytona. Past Rolex 24 Grand Marshals include Brian Redman, Dan Gurney, Jackie Stewart, Richard Petty, Derek Bell, Bobby Rahal and Sir Stirling Moss.