IndyCar »

2011 Indianapolis 500: Revised entry list

The latest official entry list for the centennial running of the Indianapolis 500 on May 29 confirms 40 driver/team combinations competing to take their place on the 33-car starting grid.
The entry list for the 100th anniversary running of the Indianapolis 500 includes 12 Americans, eight British drivers, six Brazilians, three Canadians and two Australians among the 40 named drivers.

There are five former Indy 500 champions and eight rookies included on the list, which - along with IZOD IndyCar series regulars - also sees the return of familar faces including Dan Wheldon, Paul Tracy, Buddy Rice and NASCAR's Scott Speed.

Further details and analysis of the entry list are available in the news section.

Revised and updated entry list

#2/2T Oriol Servia (Pals, Catalonia, Spain)
Telemundo Newman/Haas Racing

#3/3T Helio Castroneves (Sao Paulo, Brazil)
Shell V-Power/Pennzoil Ultra Team Penske

#4/4T JR Hildebrand (Sausalito, Calif., USA)
National Guard Panther Racing

#5/5T Takuma Sato (Tokyo, Kanto Province, Japan)
KV Racing Technology - Lotus

#6/6T Ryan Briscoe (Sydney, New South Wales, Australia)
IZOD Team Penske

#7/7T Danica Patrick (Roscoe, Ill., USA)
Team GoDaddy Andretti Autosport

#8 Ho-Pin Tung (Wenzhou, Zhejiang Province, China)
Schmidt Dragon Racing

#9/9T Scott Dixon (Auckland, New Zealand)
Target Chip Ganassi Racing

#10/10T Dario Franchitti (Edinburgh, Scotland, UK)
Target Chip Ganassi Racing

#11/11T Davey Hamilton (Nampa, Idaho, USA)
HP Dreyer & Reinbold Racing

#12/12T Will Power (Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia)
Verizon Team Penske

#14/14T Vitor Meira (Brasilia, Brazil, Brazil)
ABC Supply Co AJ Foyt Enterprises

#17/17T Raphael Matos (Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil)
Automatic Fire Sprinklers, Inc. AFS Racing

#18/18T James Jakes (Leeds, England, UK)
Acorn Stairlifts Dale Coyne Racing

#19/19T Alex Lloyd (Manchester, England, UK)
Boy Scouts of America Dale Coyne Racing

#20 Scott Speed (Manteca, Calif., USA)
Fuzzy's Vodka Dragon Racing

#22/22T Justin Wilson (Sheffield, England, UK)
Z-Line Designs Dreyer & Reinbold Racing

#23/23T Paul Tracy (Scarborough, Ontario, Canada)
WIX Filters Dreyer & Reinbold Racing

#24/24T Ana Beatriz (Sao Paulo, Brazil)
Team Ipiranga Dreyer & Reinbold Racing

#26/26T Marco Andretti (Nazareth, Pa., USA)
Team Venom Andretti Autosport

#27/27T Mike Conway (Bromley, England, UK)
Hire Heroes USA/7-Eleven/Dr Pepper Andretti Autosport

#28/28T Ryan Hunter-Reay (Boca Raton, Fla., USA)
Team DHL/Sun Drop Citrus Soda Andretti Autosport

#30/30T Bertrand Baguette (Verviers, Liege, Belgium)
The RACB/Aspria RLL Special Rahal Letterman Lanigan LLC

#34/34T Sebastian Saavedra (Bogota, Colombia)
Conquest Racing

#36/36T Pippa Mann (Ipswich, England, UK)
Conquest Racing

#38/38T Graham Rahal (New Albany, Ohio, USA)
Service Central Chip Ganassi Racing

#41/41T Bruno Junqueira (Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil)
AJ Foyt Enterprises

#43/43T John Andretti (Indianapolis, Ind., USA)
Team Window World Richard Petty/ Andretti Autosport

#44/44T Buddy Rice (Phoenix, Az., USA)
Panther Racing

#57 To Be Confirmed
Sarah Fisher Racing

#59/59T EJ Viso (Caracas, Miranda, Venezuela)
PDVSA KV Racing Technology - Lotus

#67/67T Ed Carpenter (Indianapolis, Ind., USA)
Dollar General Sarah Fisher Racing

#77/77T Alex Tagliani (Lachenaie, Quebec, Canada)
Bowers & Wilkins Sam Schmidt Motorsports

#78/78T Simona De Silvestro (Thun, Bern, Switzerland)
Nuclear Clean Air Energy HVM Racing

#82/82T Tony Kanaan (Salvador, Brazil, Brazil)
GEICO KV Racing Technology - Lotus

#83/83T Charlie Kimball (Camarillo, Calif., USA)
Levemir and NovoLog FlexPen Novo Nordisk Chip Ganassi Racing

#88/88T Jay Howard (Basildon, England, UK)
Service Central Sam Schmidt - RLL Racing

#98/98T Dan Wheldon (Emberton, England, UK)
William Rast - Curb/Big Machine Bryan Herta Autosport with Curb/Agajanian

#99/99T Townsend Bell (San Luis Obispo, Calif., USA)
Herbalife Schmidt Pelfrey Racing Sam Schmidt Motorsports

#06/06T James Hinchcliffe (Toronto, Ontario, Canada)
Sprott Newman/Haas Racing

#07/07T Tomas Scheckter (Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa)
Team REDLINE Xtreme - Circle K KV Racing Technology - SH Racing

The 'T' indicates the spare, or 'T'-car that the team have registered, which can be used in the event that the main car is damaged during practice or qualifying. Only three entries lack a corresponding T-car: the #8 Schmidt Dragon Racing car for Ho-Pin Tung, the #20 Dragon Racing Fuzzy's Vodka for Scott Speed, and the #57 Sarah Fisher Racing car with no confirmed driver. This means in total that 79 cars are now formally entered for the event, compared with 83 on the original mid-April entry list.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
15-21 MAY, 2010, Indianapolis, Indiana, USA #10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing`s Dario Franchitti heads field of green flag restart.
Scott Dixon Road America
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Sebastien Bourdais Indy 500 practice
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500 winner`s circle
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 headshot
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500
Indy 500, IndyCar, Takuma Sato
Indy 500 Alonso
Indy 500 2017 start
Helio Castroneves 2017 Indy 500 practice
IMS Pagoda Indy 500
Jack Harvey feature
Jack Harvey
Jack Harvey feature image
Jack Harvey feature image
Jack Harvey feature image

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.