IndyCar »

Andretti named as new strategist for Danica.

Andretti Green Racing has announced that team co-owner Michael Andretti will switch roles in 2009, taking over as strategist for Danica Patrick on the team's #7 IndyCar Series entry.

Andretti, who co-owns Andretti Green with partners Kim Green and Kevin Savoree, previously called races for son Marco, but will swap seats with Kyle Moyer for 2009.

Andretti Sr won 42 times during his professional driving career and has helped guide Andretti Green to three IndyCar Series championships and two Indianapolis 500 wins in just six seasons.

"As a driver and as an owner, I've seen a million different scenarios unfold during a race and I'm sure I'll see a few more this year," he commented, "But, as a strategist, you just have to try to anticipate what is going to happen and be a little bit smarter than everybody you're racing against. This will be a new challenge for sure, but I'm looking forward to working more closely with Danica."

Moyer worked with Patrick in 2008, but will now return to calling races for Andretti Jr's #26 entry.

"I'm looking forward to having Michael call the shots for me this year," Danica admitted, "Michael has been a great resource for me since I came to Andretti Green and having him in my pit box is going to be good. He has been very hands-on with all four of our cars in the past and it will be great having him calling races for me."

AGR's two other entries will retain the same strategist/driver alignments as in 2008, with Kim Green returning to Hideki Mutoh's #27 entry and George Klotz rejoining Tony Kanaan on the #11 car.

The 2009 IndyCar Series season begins 5 April with the fifth running of the AGR-promoted Honda Grand Prix of St Petersburg.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500 winner`s circle
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice 2
Johnny Rutherford, McLaren-Honda-Andretti [Credit: McLaren Racing]
Fernando Alonso, McLaren-Honda-Andretti, [Credit: McLaren]
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: Indycar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Kyle Kaiser (Juncos Racing) celebrates at Laguna Seca
Kyle Kaiser - Juncos Racing
Indy Lights title contender Santiago Urrutia, Ed Jones, Dean Stoneman, Felix Serralles, Kyle Kaiser and Zach Veach   [pic credit: IndyCar Media]
Carlos Munoz celebrates his first IndyCar pole at Texas Motor Speedway
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport [credit: Walter Kuhn]
Marco Andretti - Andretti Autosport [credit: Chris Owens]
Ryan Hunter-Reay - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: IndyCar media/Chris Jones]
Marco Andretti - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Joe Skibinski]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.