IndyCar »

Dale named Atlantics race director.

IMSA veteran Terry Dale has been named as race director for the 2009 Cooper Tires presents the Atlantic Championship powered by Mazda.

The Canadian has fulfilled similar roles with IMSA since 2005, and was race director for the IMSA Lites Series in both 2007 and 2008, combining the former with the same duties in the Porsche GT3 Cup Series. Prior to that, Dale acted as race director for the IMSA-sanctioned Formula BMW USA Series.

“I'm excited to be working with the Atlantic Championship this season,” Dale said, “The series has such a great and long history, and it is truly an honour to be associated with it. I'm looking forward to working with the drivers and teams this year in a positive way.”

Dale also brings experience from his time as chief steward for the SCCA Trans-Am Series, the CART-sanctioned Indy Lights Championship and Super Touring Championship, and various ASN Canada FIA-sanctioned series. He has been involved in racing as an official or competitor since 1963.

“We are extremely fortunate to have Terry come onboard as our 2009 race director,” said Atlantic Championship VP of operations John Brunner, “He brings a great deal of experience as a race official and is a consummate professional. He will ensure that our races will be officiated fairly and consistently, and we are grateful to IMSA for making him available to us this year.”

The twelve-race Atlantic Championship gets underway at Sebring on Friday 20 March.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Champ Car Atlantic logo
Detroit IndyCar race start
Esteban Gutierrez IndyCar Detroit
Graham Rahal Detroit IndyCar 2017
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Sebastien Bourdais Indy 500 practice
Max Chilton Indy 500 2017
Max Chilton Indy 500 2017
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
Sebastien Bourdais headshot
Sebastien Bourdais Indy 500 practice 2017
Ed Carpenter Indy 500 practice 2
Ed Carpenter Indy 500 practice
Max Chilton IndyCar 2017
Spencer Pigot Ed Carpenter Racing 2017
Johnny Rutherford, McLaren-Honda-Andretti [Credit: McLaren Racing]
JR Hildebrand, IndyCar, Ed Carpenter Racing
Ed Jones, Dale Coyne Racing, IndyCar [Credit: Ed Jones PR]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.