The entry list for the 2009 running of the Indianapolis 500 has been revealed, featuring four past winners amongst a total of 40 entries.

Helio Castroneves, Dan Wheldon, Dario Franchitti and Scott Dixon have all tasted success at the Brickyard in the past - Castroneves on two occasions - and will look to secure another trip to the top of the podium during the event in May.

In total, 28 drivers have so far been named to the 40 entries, with 33 starting slots available for the race itself.

As well as including four past winners, the current entry list also features four rookie drivers in the shape of Raphael Matos, Stanton Barrett, Robert Doornbos and Mike Conway. Two female racers will also attempt to qualifying for the race, with Sarah Fisher joining Danica Patrick in the line-up.

Elsewhere, two big names return to the series for the event, with Paul Tracy signing up with KV Racing Technology, and Scott Sharp set to race for Panther Racing with backing from the same Patron company that backs his ALMS programme with Highcroft Racing.

Indianapolis 500 Entry List:

2. Raphael Matos Luczo Dragon Racing
02. Graham Rahal Newman/Haas/Lanigan Racing
3. Helio Castroneves Team Penske
4. Dan Wheldon Panther Racing
5. Mario Moraes KV Racing Technology
6. Ryan Briscoe Team Penske
06. Robert Doornbos Newman/Haas/Lanigan Racing
7. Danica Patrick Andretti Green Racing
8. TBA KV Racing Technology
9. Scott Dixon Target Chip Ganassi Racing
10. Dario Franchitti Target Chip Ganassi Racing
11. Tony Kanaan Andretti Green Racing
12. Will Power Penske Racing
13. EJ Viso HVM Racing
14. Vitor Meira AJ Foyt Enterprises
15. Paul Tracy KV Racing Technology
16. Scott Sharp Panther Racing
17. TBA Rahal Letterman Racing
18. Justin Wilson Dale Coyne Racing
19. TBA Dale Coyne Racing
20. Ed Carpenter Vision Racing
21. Ryan Hunter-Reay Vision Racing
22. TBA Bryan Herta Autosport
23. TBA Dreyer & Reinbold Racing
24. Mike Conway Dreyer & Reinbold Racing
25. TBA Roth Racing
26. Marco Andretti Andretti Green Racing
27. Hideki Mutoh Andretti Green Racing
34. TBA Conquest Racing
36. TBA Conquest Racing
41. AJ Foyt IV AJ Foyt Enterprises
43. John Andretti Petty/Dreyer & Reinbold
44. Davey Hamilton Dreyer & Reinbold Racing
48. TBA AJ Foyt Enterprises
52. TBA Roth Racing
67. Sarah Fisher Sarah Fisher Racing
68. TBA Sarah Fisher Racing
91. TBA Hemelgarn Johnson
98. Stanton Barrett Team 3G
99. Alex Lloyd Ganassi/Sam Schmidt


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment