IndyCar »

Castroneves pockets $3m+ for Indy win.

Helio Castroneves has earned a record $3,048,005 from an overall purse of $14,315,315 for the emotional Indianapolis 500 victory that elevated him into an elite club of three-time winners.

The Brazilian, and his family, shed tears of joy in Victory Lane as the victory came just two days after he was cleared of the final charge in a series of federal tax evasion accusations that threatened not only his racing career, but also his freedom in general. Perhaps it was the release that came with acquittal, but Castroneves had a dream-like month of May, winning both the PEAK Performance Pole Award and the annual Indy 500 Pit Stop Challenge before triumphing in the race.

His financial reward beat the previous record winner's purse of $2,988,065, which went to Scott Dixon in 2008, even though this year's total purse was 'only' the second-largest in 500 history, behind last year's $14,406,580. The payout was comprised of Indianapolis Motor Speedway and Indy Racing League awards, sponsor awards and other designated awards.

Dan Wheldon, who finished as runner-up to Castroneves in the #4 National Guard Panther Racing entry, earned $1,258,805, while third-placed Danica Patrick took home $763,305. Like Patrick, Townsend Bell and Will Power also posted career-best 500 finishes of fourth and fifth, earning themselves $445,305 and $345,305 respectively.

Conquest Racing's Alex Tagliani, who was only in the race after his team opted to put him into the car qualified by Bruno Junqueira after an error left the Canadian on the sidelines, claimed the Chase Rookie of the Year Award and the $25,000 cheque that went with it after finishing eleventh from the back of the field.

Meanwhile, the post-race victory celebrations saw Sarah Fisher receive the Scott Brayton Driver's Trophy, presented since 1997 to the driver who best exemplifies the character and racing spirit of the late American driver.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Helio Castroneves celebrates winning the Indianapolis 500 by kissing the yard of bricks   [pic credit: IRL/Jones]
Will Power Texas
Detroit IndyCar Helio Castroneves
Helio Castroneves 2017 Indy 500 practice
Will Power Indy 500 practice
Simon Pagenaud Phoenix IndyCar
Josef Newgarden, Penske, IndyCar, Barber Motorsports Park
Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske) celebrates winning the 2016 IndyCar title with victory at Sonoma   [pic credit: Chris Owens]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Will Power - Team Penske
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Simon Penske - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar media/Bret Kelley]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Will Power - Penske  [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.