IndyCar »

Dixon takes milestone win, keeps eyes on title.

Scott Dixon wasn't thinking about tying the IndyCar Series' victory record during the closing laps of the SunTrust Indy Challenge at Richmond International Raceway on Saturday night as he had the more pressing problem of keeping Target Chip Ganassi Racing team-mate Dario Franchitti behind him.

Dixon remained the leader following a lap 260 restart and went on to win by 0.3109secs, adding a second victory at the 0.75-mile D-shaped oval to that which he took in 2003 and claiming his third victory of the season. Of greater note, however, was the fact that the 19th win of his career tied Sam Hornish Jr for the all-time IndyCar Series record.

"Achievements like that are something you can look back at someday and treasure," admitted Dixon, who's embroiled in a points battle at the mid-point of the season, "There will be many years in my career, hopefully, that I can try to build on that. But there are a lot of people like TK [Tony Kanaan] and Helio [Castroneves] that are pretty close, so I'll have to stick at it for a long time to try to keep that going."

Kanaan has 13 IndyCar Series career victories to his name, while Castroneves currently has 16, and appears better placed than his Brazilian countryman to challenge Dixon for the record this season. Dan Wheldon, the 2005 series champion, is next in the order with 15 victories, but is running with the now unfancied Panther Racing team - ironically, the team with which three-time series champion Hornish began piling up his wins. Now in NASCAR, his 2000-07 IndyCar career contained 116 starts with Panther and Penske, with his 19th win coming at Texas Motor Speedway in June 2007.

"It's pretty cool to be in that position," said Dixon, whose 19 wins in 104 events is two under Hornish's tally when he reached the mark, "I know Sam really well. He's a fantastic driver and definitely had this series captured many years ago when he was first in here. And to leave on the note he did - with the 500 and a championship - was pretty special as well. I'd definitely like one more [win] so we can have that record outright though."

This week's Camping World Grand Prix could be conducive to accomplishing that, as Dixon has won three of the four IndyCar Series races at Watkins Glen International since the iconic road course joined the schedule.

Dixon finished outside the top ten at St Petersburg and Long Beach, but has notched top five finishes in five of the six events since, including the three victories, to sit one point behind Franchitti in the standings. If history holds, both drivers will remain in the hunt to the end of the year, as four of the past eight winners at Richmond have gone on to take the series title - including Dixon in 2003 and Franchitti in 2007).

"We've had some bad races at the start of the year and, obviously, Helio started a little bit later," Dixon said of the title race, "[Richmond] was a big gain for us and could be a pivotal point of the season. I hope that we can continue to be a little bit more consistent than them and gain points when we need to."

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Indy Racing League. 26-27 June, 2009.  Suntrust Indy Challenge. Richmond International Speedway. Richmond, Virginia. Race winner, Scott Dixon.
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Max Chilton Indy 500 2017
Max Chilton Indy 500 2017
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
Max Chilton IndyCar 2017
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to victory at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to pole at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Scott Dixon leads the Indycar field   [pic credit: Indycar media/Bret Kelley]
Scott Dixon - Target Chip Ganassi Racing   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/JOE SKIBINSKI]
Max Chilton, Chip Ganassi, [Credit: Max Chilton PR]
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi [credit: IndyCar Series]
Juan Pablo Montoya, driver of the #2 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet IndyCar V6 takes the chequered flag to victory Sunday, March 13, 2016 during the Verizon IndyCar Series Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg in St. Petersburg, Florida. It is the second year in a row Montoya has won this race. (Photo by Sam Cobb/LAT for Chevy Racing)
Scott Dixon sprays the champagne in Victory Circle following his win in the GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma at Sonoma Raceway. (Photo by: Chris Owens for IndyCar Media)
Scott Dixon is congratulated by Dario Franchitti after winning the 2015 Verizon IndyCar Series Championship. (Photo by: Shawn Gritzmacher for IndyCar Media)

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Don - Unregistered

June 30, 2009 2:57 PM

Dixon's having have good year. The title fight will probably go down between him and Dario. He is one of several IRL pilots that could do well in an F1 car.

Dodgy Foreigner - Unregistered

June 30, 2009 7:13 PM

I agree Don... However, it would take a lot to leave a series he's successful in and gets paid to do so. Problem with F1 is that many of the drivers need to fund their way into the championship...

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.