IndyCar »

George replaced as IMS president, CEO.

As rumoured just over a month ago, Tony George has been removed from his senior roles at both the Hulman-George and Indianapolis Motor Speedway organisations - and has stood down as head of the IndyCar Series as well.

Despite issuing a statement in the wake of this year's Indianapolis 500 contradicting premature reports of his dismissal, George will no longer serve as president and chief executive officer of the Hulman-George companies, including the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Corporation, although he will remain a board member of the former. He took the option to step back from his role as figurehead of the IRL personally.

The board of directors of Hulman & Company and the Indianapolis Motor Speedway announced overnight that a new management team comprised of veteran IMS executives W Curtis Brighton and Jeffrey G Belskus will head the Hulman-George companies with immediate effect from 1 July. Brighton, currently executive vice president and chief legal counsel, will become president and CEO of Hulman & Company, while Belskus, currently executive vice president and chief financial officer for the companies, will become president and CEO of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Corporation.

"Our board had asked Tony to structure our executive staff to create efficiencies in our business structure and to concentrate his leadership efforts in the Indy Racing League," IMS board chairman Mari Hulman George confirmed, "He has decided that, with the recent unification of open-wheel racing and the experienced management team IMS has cultivated over the years, now would be the time for him to concentrate on his team ownership of Vision Racing with his family and other personal business interests he and his family share. Tony will remain on the board of directors of all of our companies, and he will continue to work with the entire board to advance the interests of all of companies.

"Our family and the entire racing community are grateful to Tony for the leadership and direction he has provided since 1990. We are pleased that he will continue to be an important part of the Indy Racing League as a team owner and as a member of our Board of Directors, and we wish him every success."

Mrs George went on to state here confidence in the choice of Belskus and Brighton - who both were originally hired by her son - to head up the companies.

"Jeff and Curt have both been with the company for many years in positions of top leadership," she said, "Tony, as well as the entire board of directors, has the utmost confidence in their capabilities. Both of these men have years of experience and leadership within our companies. In addition, each of our companies has effective presidential leadership, and that will remain in place."

Joie Chitwood remains as president and chief operating officer of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway LLC, Terry Angstadt as president of the commercial division of the Indy Racing League and Brian Barnhart as president of the series' competition division of the Indy Racing League.

"These changes underscore our family's commitment going forward to all of our companies, especially our commitment to the growth of the Indy Racing League and the sport of open-wheel racing," Mrs George concluded, "We believe the Hulman-George family's long stewardship of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, beginning in 1945, and our significant investment in the Speedway and in the IRL demonstrates that we have full confidence in all of our companies and that we intend to grow them in the future."

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Indy Racing League. 20-21 June 2009. Iowa Corn 250.  Iowa Speedway. Newton, Iowa USA. Tony George and Ed Carpenter.
Will Power Texas
Indy 500 2017 start
Pippa Mann Indy 500 qualifying
2016 Indy 500, Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Graham Rahal celebrates victory in the Firestone 600 at Texas Motor Speedway   (image credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens)
Firestone tyres during Indianapolis test   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Carlos Munoz celebrates his first IndyCar pole at Texas Motor Speedway
Alex Rossi, Indy 500 [Credit: IndyCar]
Marco Andretti - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Matt Brabham to contest 2016 Indianapolis 500 with Pirtek and Team Murray
Matt Brabham to contest 2016 Indianapolis 500 with Pirtek and Team Murray
Justin Wilson speaks with Oriol Servia in pit lane (Photo by: Jim Haines for IndyCar Media)
Justin Wilson with a light moment prior to his qualification attempt for the MAVTV 500 at Auto Club Speedway (Photo by: Joe Skibinski for IndyCar Media)
Justin Wilson stands in Gasoline Alley at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway during the 2015 Indianapolis 500 (Photo by: Chris Owens for IndyCar Media)
Ryan Hunter-Reay celebrates in Victory Lane after winning the Iowa Corn 300 at Iowa Speedway (Photo by: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
Ryan Hunter-Reay celebrates in Victory Lane after winning the Iowa Corn 300 at Iowa Speedway (Photo by: Chris Owens for IndyCar Media)
Sage Karam, driver of the #8 Comfort Revolution/Big Machine Records Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet IndyCar V6, celebrates his third-place finish Saturday, July 18, 2015, during the Verizon IndyCar Series Iowa Corn 300 at Iowa Speedway in Newton, Iowa. (Photo by Phillip Abbott/LAT for Chevy Racing)

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect. - Unregistered

July 04, 2009 7:47 AM

They should have fired him in 1995. At that time CART was second only to F1. Now the IRL is a last resort to those who really bite. I recall an INDY 500 when 5 CART racers took the top 5 spots and spot 6 went to a taxi driver and the IRL teams were a joke. So he destroyed a great but flawed series (as is every series) and replaced it with a piece of crap and ran down the INDY 500 to a whatever event. Looks like he was allowed 14 years too many to cause destruction.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.