» BACK TO CRASH.NET

Crash.Net IndyCar News

Modifications to 2010 schedule announced

27 August 2009

Indy Racing League officials today confirmed the date for the 2010 IndyCar Series event at Kentucky Speedway and announced changes to the dates for the 2010 IndyCar Series races held at Texas Motor Speedway and Twin Ring Motegi.

"We worked with our promoter partners to ensure they had race dates that fit their needs and worked for the series as well," said Terry Angstadt, president of the commercial division of the Indy Racing League, sanctioning body of the IndyCar Series.

"Both Texas Motor Speedway and Twin Ring Motegi came to us in recent weeks looking to make adjustments based on various factors and we were happy to work with them to make the appropriate changes."

The Texas 550k IndyCar Series race will shift its 2010 date up a week to Saturday night, June 5, the weekend immediately follow the Indianapolis 500 to help Texas Motor Speedway keep the IndyCar Series and NASCAR Trucks doubleheader weekend intact.

"I have always been a proponent of that off week between Indy and us, but we hope the back-to-back races create even more momentum for the IndyCar Series and Texas Motor Speedway,'' Texas Motor Speedway president Eddie Gossage said.

"It was important for us to keep this combination weekend together because it has been a tradition at Texas Motor Speedway since we opened in 1997. We looked at a variety of options, but felt this was the best for our fans and we are appreciative of the IRL's flexibility."

The Kentucky race, which was announced as a Labour Day weekend event, will be held on Saturday night, September 4, while the Indy Japan 300 will be held on Sunday, September 19.

"We think we can take this race and make it even better, so we were happy the holiday weekend date was available," said Kentucky Speedway general manager Mark Simendinger. "We're thrilled with the history we've had with the IndyCar Series and next season will be no different as our event begins the closing three-race stretch of the season. With the investment we've made and will make in amenities such as camping, we think our event will make an excellent destination weekend."

The Indy Japan 300 will shift one day later to help Twin Ring Motegi take advantage of a national holiday on September 20.

The complete 2010 IndyCar Series schedule is as follows:

Sunday 14 March Brazil
Sunday 28 March St Petersburg*
Sunday 11 April Barber Motorsports Park**
Sunday 18 April Long Beach*
Saturday 1 May Kansas Speedway
Sunday 30 May Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Saturday 5 June Texas Motor Speedway#
Sunday 20 June Iowa Speedway
Sunday 4 July Watkins Glen International**
Sunday 18 July Toronto*
Sunday 25 July Edmonton City Centre Airport*
Sunday 8 August Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course**
Sunday 22 August Infineon Raceway**
Saturday 28 August Chicagoland Speedway#
Saturday 4 September Kentucky Speedway#
Sunday 19 September Twin Ring Motegi
Saturday 2 October Homestead-Miami Speedway

[# denotes night race; * denotes street circuit, ** denotes road course; all other ovals]


» BACK TO CRASH.NET