IndyCar »

Lloyd given Newman/Haas ride for Homestead

Former Indy Lights Champion Alex Lloyd has been handed a drive with the illustrious Newman/Haas/Lanigan Racing outfit in the team's #06 car for the 2009 IndyCar Series finale, the Firestone Indy 300 at Homestead-Miami Speedway on 10 October.

The race will mark only Lloyd's second outing this season after having competed in the iconic Indianapolis 500 earlier in the year, qualifying eleventh and finishing 13th in the historic event for Sam Schmidt Motorsports in partnership with Ganassi, a result that bodes well for his Homestead hopes. The 24-year-old holds the distinction of being the only driver to triumph on both the Indianapolis Motor Speedway's road course – in Indy Lights in 2006 – and also its famed oval, in the same series the following year.

The British star won eight races from 15 starts en route to the 2007 Indy Lights crown, including victory at Homestead-Miami Speedway after starting second. He also set five pole positions, finished in the top five on 13 occasions and led a total of 399 laps during his title-winning campaign.

Lloyd has made two IndyCar starts before, both at Indianapolis in 2008 and 2009.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Alex Lloyd - Rahal Letterman/Chip Ganassi   [pic credit: IRL/Jones]
Max Chilton Indy 500 2017
Max Chilton Indy 500 2017
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 qualifying
James Davison
Sebastien Bourdais headshot
Ed Carpenter Indy 500 qualifying
Pippa Mann Indy 500 qualifying
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice
Sebastien Bourdais Indy 500 practice 2017
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice
Jay Howard Indy 500 practice
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice 2
Ed Carpenter Indy 500 practice 2
Ed Carpenter Indy 500 practice

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.