Takuma Sato has unanimously been voted as the driver mostly likely to be the Rookie of the Year in the 2010 IZOD IndyCar Series.

Sato, who has inked a deal to race with KV Racing Technology, will be one of five rookies competing in 2010, along with developmental series graduates Alex Lloyd, Ana Beatriz, Mario Romancini and Simona de Silvestro

The survey asked several returning IZOD IndyCar Series drivers to pick, in addition to their Rookie of the Year, the 2010 IZOD IndyCar Series champion, the driver who will be the next first-time winner and the biggest surprise of the season.

Sato incidentally also took the honours in the latter poll, receiving three votes, with team-mate E.J. Viso among the other five drivers receiving one vote based on his 'speed'. Ryan Hunter-Reay, Danica Patrick, Mario Romancini and 'one of the rookies', also received votes in the poll. Six drivers opted to abstain.

Meanwhile Helio Castroneves was named as the man most likely to win the 2010 IZOD IndyCar Series drivers' title, his Penske team-mates Ryan Briscoe and Will Power came in second and third, whilst E.J Viso was tipped to be the series' next first-time visitor to victory lane. Sato was also nominated in this category too.

The full results were as follows:


1. Helio Castroneves 5 votes
2. Ryan Briscoe 4 votes
3. Will Power 3 votes
4. Dario Franchitti 1 vote
5= Scott Dixon 1 vote
5= Mike Conway 1 vote

Rookie of the Year:

1. Takuma Sato 12 votes

Next winner:

1. E.J. Viso 4 votes
2. Raphael Matos 2 votes
= Mike Conway 2 votes
3. Vitor Meira 1 vote
= Takuma Sato 1 vote

Biggest Surprise:*

1. Takuma Sato 3 votes
2. E.J. Viso 2 votes
3. Mario Romancini 1 vote
= Ryan Hunter-Reay 1 vote
= Danica Patrick 1 vote
= "One of the rookies" 1 vote

* Note: Six opted to abstain.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment