IndyCar »

Details revealed on Indy qualifying

IndyCar reveals more information on the revised qualifying format for the 2010 Indy 500
More details have been revealed on the revised qualifying format for the 2010 running of the Indianapolis 500.

The new format will run on a single weekend – 22/23 May – as previously revealed, with the exact nature of the system having now been confirmed.

On the Saturday, each driver will have up to three qualifying runs during five hours of running to determine the top 24 positions on the grid – with the top nine being decided through an additional 90 minute shootout.

The remainder of the grid will then be set during Bump Day on 23 May.

“This new format for Indianapolis 500 qualifying will deliver even more action and intensity for fans,” Jeff Belskus, president and chief executive officer of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Corporation said. “Drivers will go all out during the first session on Pole Day to get a chance to make a run for the pole. Then they'll need to dig even deeper to find the speed for the pole in the last 90 minutes.

“Plus there still will be plenty of spots up for grabs on Bump Day, with all of the dramatic, last-minute bumping that generations of fans have loved about Indy. This is going to be a fantastic weekend of qualifying. I can't wait to see it unfold.”

As well as grid positions, the qualifying system will also offer prize money to the three quickest drivers and championship points to every driver to make the grid.

The pole winner will earn $175,000 - an increase of $75,000 from 2009 – with the second-fastest qualifier earning $75,000, and the final front-row starter taking home $50,000.

In terms of points, the pole winner will receive 15 points, with the other front-row starters earning 13 and 12 points, respectively. Drivers in rows two and two will receive, in descending order, between eleven and six points.

Positions 10-24 will receive four bonus points, and 25-33 earn three points.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Indy Racing League. Indianapolis 500. 24 May 2009. Indianapolis Speedway. Indianapolis, Indiana. Race winner, Helio Castroneves into turn one followed by field on restart.
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Sebastien Bourdais Indy 500 practice
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500 winner`s circle
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 headshot
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500
Indy 500, IndyCar, Takuma Sato
Indy 500 Alonso
Indy 500 2017 start
Helio Castroneves 2017 Indy 500 practice
IMS Pagoda Indy 500
Jack Harvey feature
Jack Harvey
Jack Harvey feature image
Jack Harvey feature image
Jack Harvey feature image
Sebastien Bourdais

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.