IndyCar »

Motegi practice sessions report

Penske drivers take the top two spots in both the Motegi practice sessions, while home favourite Takuma Sato hits the wall early on.
Penske drivers took the top two spots in the two practice sessions in Motegi, Japan ahead of this weekend's penultimate IndyCar event.

Championship leader Will Power topped the opening session ahead of Helio Castroneves, but in the afternoon session it was Ryan Briscoe's turn to shine with Power pushed down to sixth. That was just a single position ahead of his sole remaining title rival, Ganassi's Dario Franchitti.

Franchitti is only 17pts behind Power and is seen to have the edge over the Australian on oval circuits - especially at Motegi, where Power has never raced before. Dario will be looking for help from his team mate Scott Dixon, third on the championship but 83pts off the leader, in order to combat the powerful Penske bloc seeking to propel Will Power to the 2010 title.

The practice sessions were chiefly marked for an early accident involving home favourite Takuma Sato in the number 5 Lotus entry for KV Racing. An oil line failure dropped fluid over the rear tyre of the car which sent it spinning up to hit the SAFER barrier at turn 1 just 15 minutes into first practice, bringing out a long yellow to clean up the debris and collect the spilt fluids. Sato was unhurt but the car sustained significant rear-end damage that meant Sato wasn't back out on track until deep into the second practice session

Sato is joined at Motegi by his compatriots Hideki Mutoh (Newman/Haas) and Roger Yasukawa (Conquest), making his annual appearance in Japan in the car usually driven by Tomas Scheckter.

First practice

1. Will Power Penske 27.1908s
2. Helio Castroneves Penske + 0.1679s
3. Dan Wheldon Panther + 0.1876s
4. Tony Kanaan Andretti + 0.1263s
5. Scott Dixon Ganassi + 0.3660s
6. Dario Franchitti Ganassi + 0.4137s
7. Alex Tagliani FAZZT + 0.4377s
8. Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti + 0.4430s
9. Ryan Briscoe Penske + 0.4502s
10. Danica Patrick Andretti + 0.4512s
11. Marco Andretti Andretti + 0.4537s
12. Graham Rahal Newman/Haas + 0.5244s
13. EJ Viso KV Racing + 0.5353s
14. Hideki Mutoh Newman/Haas + 0.5875s
15. Roger Yasukawa Conquest + 0.6223s
16. Mario Moraes KV Racing + 0.6398s
17. Paul Tracy Dreyer and Reinbold + 0.6733s
18. Bertrand Baguette Conquest + 0.6846s
19. Alex Lloyd Dale Coyne + 0.7729s
20. Simona de Silvestro HVM + 0.8580s
21. Vitor Meira Foyt + 0.8597s
22. Justin Wilson Dreyer and Reinbold + 0.9308s
23. Raphael Matos De Ferran Dragon + 1.0193s
24. Milka Duno Dale Coyne + 1.5435s
25. Takuma Sato KV + 1.5794s

Second practice

1. Ryan Briscoe Penske 27.2382s
2. Helio Castroneves Penske + 0.0387s
3. Tony Kanaan Andretti + 0.0841s
4. Danica Patrick Andretti + 0.1350s
5. EJ Viso KV + 0.1454s
6. Will Power Penske + 0.1680s
7. Dario Franchitti Ganassi + 0.1912s
8. Marco Andretti Andretti + 0.2250s
9. Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti + 0.2557s
10. Dan Wheldon Panther + 0.2666s
11. Scott Dixon Ganassi + 0.3086s
12. Vitor Meira Foyt + 0.3809s
13. Alex Tagliani FAZZT + 0.3928s
14. Bertrand Baguette Conquest + 0.4343s
15. Graham Rahal Newman/Haas + 0.4407s
16. Hideki Mutoh Newman/Haas + 0.4696s
17. Justin Wilson Dreyer and Reinbold + 0.4701s
18. Mario Moraes KV Racing + 0.5523s
19. Paul Tracy Dreyer and Reinbold + 0.5545s
20. Alex Lloyd Dale Coyne + 0.5910s
21. Raphael Matos De Ferran Dragon + 0.6190s
22. Takuma Sato KV Racing + 0.6345s
23. Roger Yasukawa Conquest + 0.7022s
24. Milka Duno Dale Coyne + 1.1155s
25. Simona de Silvestro HVM + 1.1992s

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
9-11 April, 2010, Birmingham, Alabama, USA. #5 KV Racing`s Takuma Sato.
Scott Dixon Road America
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar
Detroit IndyCar Helio Castroneves
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500 winner`s circle
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500
Indy 500, IndyCar, Takuma Sato
Helio Castroneves 2017 Indy 500 practice
Max Chilton Indy 500 2017
Max Chilton Indy 500 2017
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Will Power Indy 500 practice

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Don - Unregistered

September 18, 2010 5:04 PM

I don't believe Sato has had one race where he hasn't crashed. It's an amazing amount of carnage. This one doesn't appear to be his fault though.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.