IndyCar »

Franchitti takes title after Power hits the wall

Dario Franchitti won his third Indycar championship, after a tense roller-coaster of a race that saw Will Power exit mid-race with suspension damage.
Dario Franchitti knew what he had to do to clinch the 2010 championship, and set about the job with laser-like intensity by claiming the lead from the start. He was only briefly usurped by Tony Kanaan before going on to claim the crucial two bonus points for leading the most laps on lap 118.

Despite this, Franchitti still needed to hold on tight to the lead. Will Power was running in fourth place, so even second for Dario still wouldn't be enough to overhaul Will in the points.

But the matter became moot on lap 134 when Power's car slid up and made a series of seemingly light, glancing blows against the wall in turn 4. At first it seemed that he had escaped serious damage, but then repairs for a broken wishbone saw him lose five laps; and when the car still wasn't drivable he was brought back into the garage to see if anything could be done - but it couldn't.

That meant Power would finish in 25th place, and so Franchitti still needed to finish in the top ten. Dario's strategy changed immediately, opting to fall back away from the leaders and out of danger at the back of the lead lap - a tactic that almost backfired when Milka Duno slid up into the wall right in front of him for the last caution of the evening.

That left the race win down to a group of users who took inspiration from the way Helio Castroneves had won in Kentucky - a last second fuel top-up at the penultimate yellow. Dario's team mate Scott Dixon emerged top of that group, and in the last stint of the race he was able to build a huge lead over Andretti Autosports duo Tony Kanaan and Danica Patrick who were battling fiercely side-by-side for most of the last twenty laps, Danica finally pipping Tony by a hundredth of a second at the line in her best performance of the year.

But the day belonged unequivocally to Ganassi: Scott Dixon claimed the win, and Dario Franchitti claimed the 2010 Indycar title.

Read more

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
3-4 September, 2010, Sparta, Kentucky USA #10 Dixie Target Chip Ganassi Racing`s Dario Franchitti.
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar
Detroit IndyCar Helio Castroneves
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500 winner`s circle
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500
Helio Castroneves 2017 Indy 500 practice
Max Chilton Indy 500 2017
Max Chilton Indy 500 2017
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice 2
Will Power Indy 500 practice

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.