IndyCar »

Kanaan loses primary sponsor

Tony Kanaan may be left without a seat in 2011 after 7-Eleven announced that it is pulling out of sponsoring the Andretti Autosport #11 car
Tony Kanaan's future in Indycar was thrown into doubt by the announcement that the primary sponsor of the #11 car, 7-Eleven, Inc. has notified Andretti Autosport that it will not continue in that role in 2011.

That means that while Kanaan's contract with Andretti Autosport has another three years to run, it's unclear if Michael Andretti's team can afford to pay him unless they can replace 7-Eleven as the main sponsor. Kanaan is due more than $3 million per season, based on the contract signed in August 2008.

"Our hope is to have Tony Kanaan and the 11 car as part of our IZOD IndyCar Series lineup again in 2011 and we are currently working very hard to find the necessary sponsorship to make that a reality," said Andretti Autosport senior vice president and chief marketing officer John Lopes.

"In the meantime,and although he remains under contract with Andretti Autosport, we have given Tony and his management the permission to talk with other team owners to explore what other alternatives might be available at this time."

The news comes just days after one of Kanaan's best runs of the season, finishing third just behind his team mate Danica Patrick at Homestead-Miami. Kanaan had one race victory this season at Iowa in June and was the team's highest placed driver in the four-car squad, finishing in sixth.

Kanaan has been with Andretti Autosport since the start of 2003 as the series transitioned from Champ Car to Indycar, winning pole position in his first appearance for the team and winning the team's first victory two weeks later at Phoenix. He has 14 championship career wins and 102 top ten finishes to his credit since his series debut in the 2002 Indianapolis 500, and won the series championship in 2004.

7-Eleven have confirmed that they will remain an associate (minor) sponsor of the #7 car driven by Patrick.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
6-8 August, 2010. Lexington, Ohio #11 Team 7-Eleven Andretti Autosport`s Tony Kanaan.
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500 winner`s circle
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice 2
Johnny Rutherford, McLaren-Honda-Andretti [Credit: McLaren Racing]
Fernando Alonso, McLaren-Honda-Andretti, [Credit: McLaren]
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: Indycar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Carlos Munoz celebrates his first IndyCar pole at Texas Motor Speedway
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport [credit: Walter Kuhn]
Marco Andretti - Andretti Autosport [credit: Chris Owens]
Ryan Hunter-Reay - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: IndyCar media/Chris Jones]
Marco Andretti - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: Tim Holle/IndyCar Media]
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: Chris Jones/IndyCar Media]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.