IndyCar »

Mike Conway signs for Andretti Autosport

British driver Mike Conway is to return from serious injury in 2010 to a full-time drive at Andretti Autosport in 2011.
Andretti Autosport has announced that it has signed 27-year-old British driver Mike Conway to drive for them in the 2011 IZOD IndyCar Series.

Conway has previously appeared in 23 IndyCar races driving for the Dreyer & Reinbold Racing team, but in the 2010 Indianapolis 500 he was involved in a serious accident on the final lap when he collided with Ryan Hunter-Reay who was out of fuel and suddenly slowed up. Conway's car was sent spinning into the air and was torn apart by the safety fencing: he sustained a compression fracture of one of his thoracic vertebrae that put him in a back brace and out of racing for the rest of the year.

Now fully recovered, Conway has been signed to race a full season for Andretti Autosport in 2011 - where ironically Ryan Hunter-Reay will now be his team mate, along with Marco Andretti and Danica Patrick in a four-car line-up. The team had previously let Tony Kanaan go at the end of 2010 after the loss of Kanaan's primary sponsor, 7-Eleven, Inc. Kanaan has since signed a deal with De Ferran Dragon.

"This is a really exciting moment in my career to be racing for Andretti Autosport," said Conway. "It's going to be an honor working with some great people and great teammates, and I can't wait to get started."

"Mike is a great addition to our team, for sure. He is talented, has a lot of potential and should really fit in well with our team here," said Michael Andretti, the team's Chief Executive Officer. "He's got great credentials, has raced in some very competitive formulas and is a proven winner. We're really excited to be able to bring him to Andretti Autosport."

Conway's previous best result in IndyCar was third at Sonoma in 2009. He raced in the GP2 series from 2006 until 2008 for DPR, Super Nova and Trident and won the Monaco sprint race in his last year in the series. He was also a test driver for the Honda F1 team in 2007 and 2008, and had previously won the British Formula Renault Championship (2004) and British F3 International Series (2006) before going on to win the Macau Grand Prix the same year.

"I can't wait to hit the track and start achieving some great results," said Conway, who is managed by former F1 and CART driver Mark Blundell. "Everyone is fired up, especially me, and I'm ready for the challenge ahead."

More details - including the sponsorship arrangements - will be announced at a later date. An Open Test is scheduled for March 14-15 at Barber Motorsports Park in Alabama, and the team also has a testing day planned the week before at Sebring International Raceway.

The first race in the 2011 IndyCar season is the St Petersburg road race on March 27.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Indy Racing League. 30-31 May 2009. Milwaukee Mile. West Allis, Wisconsin USA. Mike Conway.
Indy Racing League.  10-12 July 2009.  Honda Indy of Toronto. Tornoto, Ontario, Canada.  Mike Conway.
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500 winner`s circle
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice 2
Johnny Rutherford, McLaren-Honda-Andretti [Credit: McLaren Racing]
Fernando Alonso, McLaren-Honda-Andretti, [Credit: McLaren]
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: Indycar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Carlos Munoz celebrates his first IndyCar pole at Texas Motor Speedway
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport
Alexander Rossi - Andretti Autosport [credit: Walter Kuhn]
Marco Andretti - Andretti Autosport [credit: Chris Owens]
Ryan Hunter-Reay - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: IndyCar media/Chris Jones]
Marco Andretti - Andretti Autosport   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Juan Pablo Montoya, driver of the #2 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet IndyCar V6 celebrates his victory Sunday, March 13, 2016 after winning the Verizon IndyCar Series Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg in St. Petersburg, Florida. It is the second year in a row Montoya has won this race. (Photo by Michael L. Levitt/LAT for Chevy Racing)

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

JOHN - Unregistered

February 02, 2011 10:56 PM

Thats good! Saw that crash at Indy 500 last year. Was nasty. Lucky it wasn't as bad as the one suffered by the sweedish driver (cant remember his name) Good luck for the new season Mike!!!

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.