IndyCar »

Indy 500: Dan Wheldon's shock win

But then a blur of white and orange raced past, and Dan Wheldon materialised seemingly out of nowhere to take the chequered flag - an astonishing end to the race. Dan Wheldon could barely hold back the tears of joy as he gave his post-race TV conference.

"We came here to win," said his equally overcome car owner Bryan Herta, who was a driver here in 2005 when Wheldon won his first Indy 500. "We always said we came here to win ... But we actually won!"

The Panther team did file an appeal post-race on the technicality that Hildebrand was overtaken under yellow after his crash - a creative use of the rule book since no one would ever claim that a wrecked car could not be "passed" under yellow. But as the car was still in motion - and did indeed subsequently cross the finish line - the appeal had to be taken under serious consideration and may have technical grounds for overturning Wheldon's win.

Just because the chequered flag has come out doesn't mean that the drama is over, it seems.

Read: Panther appeal decision.


Page 2 of 2
« 1 2 


Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Former Indy 500 champion Dan Wheldon sits in the cockit of his Bryan Herta Autosports car in pit lane during practice on Thursday, May 19 2011 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. [Picture credit: Ron McQueeney for IndyCar Media]
Dan Wheldon, who crossed the line first at the 2011 Indianapolis 500 race on Sunday May 29. [Picture credit: IndyCar Media]
Dan Wheldon celebrates with the traditional drink of milk at end of the 2011 Indianapolis 500 on Sunday, May 29. [Picture credit: LAT Photo USA]
Mikhail Aleshin waits on pitlane prior to practice at Long Beach (Photo by: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
Carlos Munoz waits on pit lane in Long Beach (Photo by: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
The crew of Mikhail Aleshin go to work in the pits (Photo by: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
Will Power and Carlos Munoz flank winner Mike Conway during their victory lap (Photo by: Chris Owens for IndyCar Media)
Carlos Huertas (Photo by: John Cote for IndyCar Media)
Jack Hawksworth enters the hairpin during practice at Long Beach (Photo by: John Cote for IndyCar Media)
Carlos Huertas waits on pitlane prior to the start (Photo by: Chris Owens for IndyCar Media)
Scott Dixon rolls out of pitlane during the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach (Photo by: Chris Owens for IndyCar Media)
Carlos Munoz with a champagne surprise (Photo by: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
Mike Conway celebrating his victory (Photo by: Chris Owens for IndyCar Media)
Carlos Munoz, Mike Conway and Will Power celebrate on the podium after the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach (Photo by: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
Carlos Munoz, Mike Conway and Will Power celebrate on the podium after the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach (Photo by: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
Mike Conway celebrates victory in the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach (Photo by: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
Mike Conway celebrates victory in the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach (Photo by: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
Mike Conway in action in the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach (Photo by: Chris Owens for IndyCar Media)

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


bojan - Unregistered

May 30, 2011 10:49 AM

@ bladeboy Not sure about that. You would think the car would fail post-race scrutineering on some point or other but the Americans have a different philosophy to us Europeans and tend to do all they can to help cars finish the race rather than use any excuse to disqualify them. He did complete the distance, except for one of his wheels, and since none of the wheels would do the full distance anyway I think it's fair enough.



© 1999 - 2014 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.