"I don't know if that's a precedent," Barnhart insisted. "You're in a position where from a rule book standpoint you count the yellow laps unless otherwise stated, but to me the logic behind it was that it's the right thing," he said, pointing out that drivers like Will Power shouldn't lose out because of a clear mistake by race control.
"That wasn't their fault. That was mine. So the right thing to do was to go back and not jeopardize them or ... affect their standings in the race result for the championship, go back to where the last stop was run before my mistake was made."
Asked if there would be repercussions for Will Power, who vented his fury toward the race officials so publicly in both words and gestures, Barnhart refused to commit himself either way.
"Obviously we'll review it. It's secondary in my opinion to what happened out there."