IndyCar »

Newman/Haas quits IndyCar series

Newman/Haas Racing has announced that it will not be entering any cars in the 2012 IZOD IndyCar Series, bringing to an end a 29-year involvement in US open wheel racing.
Newman/Haas Racing announced on Thursday that it will not be entering any cars in the 2012 IZOD IndyCar Series season.

"The economic climate no longer enables Newman/Haas Racing to participate in open wheel racing at this time," said Carl Haas, owner and co-founder of Newman/Haas Racing.

The news of the loss of one of its biggest and most iconic teams is a serious blow to the IndyCar series, and is especially shocking considering the renaissance in the team's performance during 2011 - which saw the team's lead driver Oriol Servia finish in fourth place in the championship, and James Hinchcliffe pip JR Hildebrand for the Rookie of the Year honours.

The news of Newman/Haas' withdrawal will now leave both drivers without a confirmed ride. There was no immediate comment from either man, with Hinchcliffe simply posting a cryptic "Well, today started great..." on Twitter as the news started to break.

The team has been competing in US open wheel racing since it was formed by racing entrepreneur Carl Haas and the Hollywood movie star Paul Newman in 1983. It was the force behind Sebastien Bourdais' dominant run of four consecutive Champ Car championships from 2004-2007, having already powered Mario and Michael Andretti, Nigel Mansell and Christiano da Matta to series titles in 1984, 1991, 1993 and 2002 respectively.

Bourdais told the US SPEED motor racing cable channel that it was "really sad news for me ... they are like family to me," adding: "If you look at all the success we had together, and what they did last season with Oriol and James, you know they are some of the best anywhere."

Other drivers for the team have included Christian Fittipaldi, Cristiano da Matta, Bruno Junqueira, Graham Rahal - and Justin Wilson, who claimed what proved to be the team's last series win at Detroit in 2008; Oriol Servia came very close to winning the controversial final restart at New Hampshire Motor Speedway this season, but lost an appeal over the final classification. In total, the team boasts 107 race victories and 109 pole positions.

The team joined the unified IndyCar Series in 2008 but had struggled to recover its former championship-winning performance, with this season's campaign spearheaded by Servia and Hinchcliffe the best showing they've made in recent years in IndyCar, with Servia even qualifying in third place for the centennial Indianapolis 500 in May to start the race from the front row.

It's believed that hoped-for sponsorship for 2012 fell through, and with the team facing heavy costs to buy new chassis and engines for next year the management found no way to continue. 33 employees have now been told that they are out of work with immediate effect, with severance pay through to the end of the year.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Canadian local hero James Hinchciffe an unsurprising favourite with the press and media at Edmonton. [Photo credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media]
Oriol Servia, who claimed third place on the grid for the 2011 Indy 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway during Pole Day on Saturday, May 21. [Picture credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media]
James Hinchcliffe (CAN - Newman/Haas Racing) relaxed with his team during the Rookie Orientation Program at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway - Thursday, May 12 [Photo by Chris Jones for IndyCar Media]
James Hinchcliffe in pit lane before heading out onto the streets of Toronto. July 2011. [Picture credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media]
Stefan Wilson, 2016 Indy 500
James Hinchcliffe, Long Beach, IndyCar
Ed Jones, Dale Coyne Racing, IndyCar [Credit: Ed Jones PR]
Kyle Kaiser (Juncos Racing) celebrates at Laguna Seca
Kyle Kaiser - Juncos Racing
Ed Carpenter Racing crew working on the boss` car   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to victory at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing) on his way to pole at Watkins Glen   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Justin Wilson tribute at Pocono   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Ed Jones - Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
Scott Dixon - Target Chip Ganassi Racing   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/JOE SKIBINSKI]
Josef Newgarden - Ed Carpenter Racing   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Shawn Gritzmacher]
James Hinchcliffe - Schmidt Peterson Motorsports   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Josef Newgarden - Ed Carpenter Racing [credit: Chris Jones]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.