IndyCar »

Franchitti, Power get 'All-America' team nod

IndyCar stars Dario Franchitti and Will Power are among the drivers elected to this year's annual "All-America Team", to be honoured at an awards banquet in January.
Dario Franchitti and Will Power's dominance of US open wheel racing in 2011 has been recognised by the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association, who have elected both men to their annual "All-America Team" line-up.

Franchitti ended the season as a three-time IZOD IndyCar Series champion, narrowly beating Will Power despite the Australian's haul of 11 pole positions and six race wins, and a dominant performance on road courses. Both drivers were similarly elected to the "All-America Team" last year, and this is Franchitti's fourth appearance in total in the annual line-up.

2011 Firestone Indy Lights champion Josef Newgarden was also elected to the team in the "At Large" category, after winning five races and claiming three pole positions in IndyCar's leading feeder series.

NASCAR's Tony Stewart and Carl Edwards were elected by the members of AARWBA in the Stock Car category, after the two drivers finished tied on points at the end of a gruelling 36-race season. Stewart clinched the Sprint Cup championship by virtue of the tie breaker of most wins during the year. NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champion Austin Dillon got the Association's nod in the Touring Series after becoming the youngest driver to claim that title.

Other drivers elected to the "All-America Team" include two-time USAC National Drivers Champion Bryan Clauson and 2011 runner-up Kyle Larson; Del Worsham and Matt Hagan in the Drag Racing category; Andrew Davis and Leh Keen from the Grand-Am Rolex Series; and first-time Pirelli World Challenge Drivers Champion Patrick Long.

In the road racing category, two two-man teams were elected: 2011 Grand-Am Champions Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas, and ALMS 2011 LMP1 driver champions Chris Dyson and Guy Smith. Andrew Davis and Leh Keen were also elected to the "All-America Team" after winning the 2011 Rolex Grand-Am Series GT Class, while sportscar driver Amy Ruman was handed the AARWBA "Rising Star" award after becoming the first female winner of a Trans-Am race at Road Atlanta's Petit Le Mans in October.

All the drivers in the "All-America Team" are in the running for the Jerry Titus Memorial Trophy for the driver receiving the most votes overall from AARWBA members. The winner will be announced and presented at the 42nd annual banquet, which is open to the public and held this year in the Grand Hall at the Train Station at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Indianapolis, Indiana on January 8.

Dario Franchitti has won the trophy each of the three previous years that he has made the "All-America Team" (2007, 2009 and 2010). Repeating the feat again this year would mean Franchitti equalling drag racer John Force as the only four-time winner. Other holders of the trophy include inaugural winner Al Unser in 1970; Johnny Rutherford (1974 and 1980); AJ Foyt (1975); Mario Andretti (1977, 1978 and 1984); Bobby Rahal (1986); Dale Earnhardt (1987); Emerson Fittipaldi (1989); Al Unser Jr. (1990 and 1994); Nigel Mansell (1993), Jeff Gordon (1995, 1998 and 2001); JJ Yeley (2003); and Tony Kanaan (2004).

This year, Kanaan tied with James Hinchcliffe for a spot in the traditional "second team", along with the late 2011 Indianapolis 500 champion Dan Wheldon who was a write-in candidate. Wheldon previously made the "All-America Team" in 2005 and went on to win the Jerry Titus Memorial Trophy that year.

Other stars named to the second team include NASCAR Nationwide Series champion Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., along with Kevin Harvick who finished in third place in the Sprint Cup behind Stewart and Edwards.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Will Power and Tony Kanaan savour a well-deserved victory drink. [Photo Credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media]
James Hinchcliffe tries to stay warm at a chilly Kentucky Speedway [Photo credit: Bret Kelley for IndyCar Media]
Britain`s two double Indy 500 champions Dario Franchitti and Dan Wheldon pose at the 2011 Goodwood Festival of Speed celebrating the centennial of the Indianapolis 500. [Picture credit: Steve Shunck for IndyCar Media]
Will Power and Dario Franchitti pose together on the road course track at Motegi. [Photo credit: IndyCar Media]
Either Dario Franchitti or Will Power will win the IZOD IndyCar Series World Championship Trophy (formerly known as the Astor Challenge Cup) in 2011. [Picture Credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media]
Will Power Texas
James Davison
Will Power Indy 500 practice
Josef Newgarden, Penske, IndyCar, Barber Motorsports Park
James Hinchcliffe, Long Beach, IndyCar
Will Power - Team Penske
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Btyan Clauson tribute at Pocono   [pic credit: Indycar Media/Chris Owens]
Josef Newgarden - Ed Carpenter Racing   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Shawn Gritzmacher]
Will Power - Penske  [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

JOHN - Unregistered

December 08, 2011 2:51 AM

Its business as usual despite Dan's (Wheldon) untimely passing and the withdrawal of Newman/Haas from IndyCar. Just seen about John Force (4 time 'all america')from Funny Car & Dragster, its very interesting and Crash.Net ought to have a Dragster Racing Page. Ive seen drag racing at Santa Pod in UK, its mental- mind blowing. Nothing (and I mean NOTHING) compares to any other motorsport

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.