IndyCar »

Justin Wilson confirms return to Dale Coyne

British racing driver Justin Wilson has confirmed that he's returning to Dale Coyne Racing for the 2012 season of the IZOD IndyCar Series.
Justin Wilson will be back with Dale Coyne Racing for the forthcoming 2012 season of the IZOD IndyCar Series, it has finally been confirmed.

Although long assumed ever since Sebastien Bourdais moved from Dale Coyne to a seat with Dragon Racing, and Oriol Servia signed up with Wilson's former team Dreyer & Reinbold Racing, the official announcement was only made late on Wednesday.

"I'm really excited as to how all of this has come together," said Wilson. "The level playing field of a new car and the much appreciated continuation with Honda engines should make 2012 a very exciting year for all of us."

Wilson will once again be joined at Dale Coyne Racing by the respected race engineer Bill Pappas, with whom Wilson worked successfully in his last stint at the team.

"Dale is committed to win, and it shows by him bringing back my 2009 engineer Bill Pappas," said Wilson. The combination delivered the team's first and only race win during that season, at Watkins Glen.

"I want to thank Dale for being able to put this combination back together," added Pappas. "I think the world of Justin and his abilities and now we can seriously get after the challenge of winning more races."

Pappas will be joined by another new signing for the team, with the respected John Dick joining the line-up after moving from his role as engineer and technical director at KV Racing.

Engine suppliers Honda were equally happy by the newly-announced line-up at Dale Coyne.

Dale has shown us he is putting together a winning team," said Erik Berkman, the president of Honda Performance Development. "The Honda family has a long history with DCR and we look forward to having them as a valued partner in 2012."

"We are very excited about 2012 and the team we are assembling," contributed team owner Dale Coyne. "As to this opportunity, racing is a combination of things, team, dedication, the right equipment, and engineering and of course the driver.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Justin Wilson, Dreyer & Reinbold driver of the #22 car in 2011
Indy Racing League. 4-5 July, 2009. Watkins Glen International Raceway. Watkins Glen, NY.  Race winner, Justin Wilson.
Indy Racing League.  7-9 August 2009.  Honda Indy  200. Mid Ohio Sports Car Course. Lexington, Ohio. Justin Wilson and Dale Coyne.
Detroit IndyCar race start
Esteban Gutierrez IndyCar Detroit
Graham Rahal Detroit IndyCar 2017
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Sebastien Bourdais Indy 500 practice
Max Chilton Indy 500 2017
Max Chilton Indy 500 2017
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
Sebastien Bourdais headshot
Sebastien Bourdais Indy 500 practice 2017
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice 2
Ed Carpenter Indy 500 practice 2
Ed Carpenter Indy 500 practice
Max Chilton IndyCar 2017
Spencer Pigot Ed Carpenter Racing 2017

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.