IndyCar »

Wilson/Allmendinger entry wins Daytona 24h

The second CGR car - the defending race-winner #01 driven by Joey Hand, Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas alongside IndyCar driver Graham Rahal - looked set to carry the Ganassi colours into podium contention until the last hours, when the car lost its three lowest gears while trying to exit from pit lane. Repairs cost it four laps, leaving it classified in sixth place behind the #5 Action Express Racing Corvette.

"It was a great race, an epic 50th Rolex 24," said Chip Ganassi. "My congratulations to Mike Shank and Ford for a fantastic race - but I don't want them to get too comfortable in Victory Circle!"

Veteran open wheel racer Paul Tracy was among the drivers of the #77 Doran Racing Ford Dallara that finished in seventh place. Tracy also revealed in a pit lane interview during the race that he was in advanced discussions to drive for Michael Shank's newly-formed IndyCar team in 2012, that Shank has set-up in partnership with Allmendinger.

Ryan Hunter-Reay - who looked to be out of the Daytona 24h altogether when the original sponsorship for the #2 Starworks Motorsport Ford Riley fell through earlier in the week - helped his team finish in tenth place.

Even more last minute was the addition of Hunter-Reay's IndyCar team mate Marco Andretti to the driver line-up of the #2 less than 24 hours before the start of the race. Andretti was granted a late license to drive despite never having sat in a Daytona Prototype or raced on the GRAND-AM track at Daytona before, and he acquitted himself admirably as a safe and fast pair of hands. However, the combination of a full Saturday of open-wheel testing combined with long runs at Daytona left Marco dehydrated and suffering from cramps, and he required rest and an IV drip before he was allowed to fly home.

By contrast, Ryan Briscoe had no chance to even get out on track after the #10 SunTrust Racing Corvette DP suffered engine problems just 14 laps into the race in the hands of Max Angelelli, and had to retire. "It's really disappointing but at the same time this is what happens in this game," said the crushed team owner Wayne Taylor.

NASCAR Sprint Cup 2011 Rookie of the Year Andy Lally led the #44 Magnus Racing Porsche GT3 team to victory in the GT class after 727 laps.

"I absolutely knew that we had the potential to do it," said Lally. "It was a pleasure to be able to join the team. It was absolutely epic ... There were lot of really strong race cars out there. We were a little bit off sequence, I think I had a little bit fresher tyres."

Lally's IndyCar rookie counterpart James Hinchcliffe, racing with Marino Franchitti, helped the #70 SpeedSource Mazda RX-8 to sixth place in the GT class and ended up five laps off the leader. NASCAR owner-driver Michael Waltrip and extreme motorsports star Travis Pastrana (who will join the NASCAR Nationwide Series in 2012) finished in 22nd place in the #56 AF-Waltrip Ferrari 458.

The race was started at 3.30pm local time (8.30pm GMT) on Saturday afternoon with the command to start engines given by Sir Jackie Stewart, standing in at short notice as grand marshall of the 50th anniversary of the Daytona 24h after AJ Foyt had to pull out with complications following earlier knee surgery.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
The winning #60 Michael Shank Racing with Curb-Agajanian Ford Riley car is brought into victory lane after a gruelling 50th anniversary Rolex 24 at Daytona. [Picture Credit: Daytona International Speedway]
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Graham Rahal Detroit celebration
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Graham Rahal Detroit IndyCar 2017
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar
Graham Rahal Detroit
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500 winner`s circle
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500
Max Chilton Indy 500 2017
Max Chilton Indy 500 2017
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
James Davison
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice 2
Max Chilton IndyCar 2017

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Davis Chaste - Unregistered

January 30, 2012 4:32 AM

The lead Starworks car that finished second had 2 gentleman drivers. It set the pole (dalziel) and the fastest lap (mcnish). If it was an all pro lineup it would have won. Especially since Mcnish had it in the front for so long. But since the gentleman drivers are the ones who paid the (high) fee for McNish to be brought in, we can't really speculate how the car would have done without them, since they came with the package.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.