IndyCar »

Briscoe tops qualifying, Franchitti starts first

"Not our day today! Broken water pump in the morning! And gear box broke in qualy!!!" she tweeted. "We've had some bad luck this weekend, but we're just going to have to put it behind us and do the best we can tomorrow."

Provisional starting grid

With so many penalties being enacted and the exact order in which the penalties are imposed not certain, the following starting grid order is highly provisional and will only be officially confirmed and announced following Sunday morning's warm-up session.

1. #10 Dario Franchitti Ganassi-Honda
2. #67 Josef Newgarden SFHR-Honda
3. #18 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne-Honda
4. #77 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt-Hamilton-Honda
5. #9 Scott Dixon Ganassi-Honda
6. #15 Takuma Sato RLL-Honda
7. #14 Mike Conway AJ Foyt-Honda
8. #38 Graham Rahal Ganassi-Honda
9. #83 Charlie Kimball Ganassi-Honda
10. #98 Alex Tagliani BHA-Lotus
11. #2 Ryan Briscoe Penske-Chevrolet *
12. #12 Will Power Penske-Chevrolet *
13. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti-Chevrolet *
14. #19 James Jakes Dale Coyne-Honda
15. #27 James Hinchcliffe Andretti-Chevrolet *
16. #5 EJ Viso KV Racing-Chevrolet *
17. #78 Simona de Silvestro HVM-Lotus
18. #3 Helio Castroneves Penske-Chevrolet *
19. #11 Tony Kanaan KV Racing-Chevrolet *
20. #4 JR Hildebrand Panther-Chevrolet *
21. #8 Rubens Barrichello KV Racing-Chevrolet *
22. #26 Marco Andretti Andretti-Chevrolet *
23. #22 Oriol Servia Dreyer & Reinbold-Lotus *
24. #20 Ed Carpenter ECR-Chevrolet *
25. #7 Sebastien Bourdais Dragon-Lotus *
26. #6 Katherine Legge Dragon-Lotus *

* = ten-place starting grid penalty for engine change

Full qualifying times and report available.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ryan Briscoe with team boss Roger Penske. [Picture credit: IndyCar Media]
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 qualifying
Ed Carpenter Indy 500 qualifying
Pippa Mann Indy 500 qualifying
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice 2
Will Power Indy 500 practice
Johnny Rutherford, McLaren-Honda-Andretti [Credit: McLaren Racing]
Fernando Alonso`s McLaren Honda IndyCar is revealed
Fernando Alonso`s McLaren Honda IndyCar is revealed
Fernando Alonso`s McLaren Honda IndyCar is revealed

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.