IndyCar »

Indy 500: Pole Day - qualifying updates

Here are the times at the end of the Pole day qualifying session, which also determines pit stall order for the race. The order of positions 10 through 24 are set; those who did not make it in on Saturday start afresh on Sunday for positions 25-33.

The drivers on the first three rows now have their times deleted and have 90 minutes to set new ones to determine the order of the front three rows, rather like the way Q3 works in F1 qualifying.

Through to pole shootout:
1. James Hinchcliffe Chevrolet 225.746mph 2:39.4715s
2. Will Power Chevrolet 225.399mph 2:39.7167s -0.2452
3. Ryan Hunter-Reay Chevrolet 225.289mph 2:39.7948s -0.3233
4. Helio Castroneves Chevrolet 225.282mph 2:39.7996s -0.3281
5. Ryan Briscoe Chevrolet 225.078mph 2:39.9446s -0.4731
6. Tony Kanaan Chevrolet 224.751mph 2:40.1775s -0.706
7. Marco Andretti Chevrolet 224.680mph 2:40.2278s -0.7563
8. Josef Newgarden Honda 224.677mph 2:40.2298s -0.7583
9. EJ Viso Chevrolet 224.422mph 2:40.4119s -0.9404

10. Rubens Barrichello Chevrolet 224.264mph 2:40.5253s -1.0538
11. Alex Tagliani Honda 224.000mph 2:40.7144s -1.2429
12. Graham Rahal Honda 223.959mph 2:40.7437s -1.2722
13. Ana Beatriz Chevrolet 223.920mph 2:40.7720s -1.3005
14. Charlie Kimball Honda 223.868mph 2:40.8093s -1.3378
15. Scott Dixon Honda 223.684mph 2:40.9413s -1.4698
16. Dario Franchitti Honda 223.582mph 2:41.0144s -1.5429
17. James Jakes Honda 223.482mph 2:41.0866s -1.6151
18. JR Hildebrand Chevrolet 223.422mph 2:41.1299s -1.6584
19. Takuma Sato Honda 223.392mph 2:41.1517s -1.6802
20. Townsend Bell Honda 223.134mph 2:41.3377s -1.8662
21. Justin Wilson Honda 222.929mph 2:41.4865s -2.015
22. Michel Jourdain Honda 222.893mph 2:41.5124s -2.0409
23. Simon Pagenaud Honda 222.891mph 2:41.5138s -2.0423
24. Sebastian Saavedra Chevrolet 222.811mph 2:41.5720s -2.1005

Wade Cunningham Honda 222.689mph 2:41.6605s
Mike Conway Honda 2 222.434mph 2:41.8458s
Sebastien Bourdais Chevrolet 222.415mph 2:41.8595s

Waived off:
Katherine Legge Chevrolet

No time/crashed:
Bryan Clauson Honda
Ed Carpenter Chevrolet
Oriol Servia Chevrolet

No attempt:
Jean Alesi Lotus
Simona de Silvestro Lotus

Update at 9.10pm BST (4.10pm Indiana time):

When the track reopened following Ed Carpenter's big crash in turn 2, it was Sebastian Saavedra's turn to try a qualifying run after blowing up his Chevy engine earlier in the day. The run was looking good until a small bobble on the third of the four timed laps ducked his aggregate down to 221.217mph and outside the top 24.

Mike Conway was next out on track, attempting to undo the problem of failing post-qualifying technical inspection for being underweight during his first run. He managed a four-lap average of 222.434mph, well down on his initial qualifying run of 223.160mph but still 0.019s faster than Bourdais who was bumped out of the top 24 as a result.

Conway's place in the qualifiers lasted just a few minutes, before the next man out - Dale Coyne Racing's James Jakes - went comprehensively faster with a lap speed of 223.482mph to slot into 17th position and bump Conway out of the top 24 and now leave Wade Cunningham on the bubble.

Sebastian Saavedra took up the challenge, and proved up to the task with an average lap speed of 222.811mph even as the gunshot rang out to call time on the qualifying session. Conway didn't get his own chance to respond: even though he had lined up ahead of Saavedra, the team had tried to carry out a craft tyre change in the tech inspection line which wasn't allowed. The car was pulled out and lost its spot and had no time to re-queue.

Those who didn't qualify in the top 24 today - Wade Cunningham, Mike Conway, Sebastien Bourdais, Bryan Clauson, Ed Carpenter, Katherine Legge, Oriol Servia and Jean Alesi, who made no attempt at all to run on Saturday - will still be able to make the grid on Sunday assuming they have raceable cars.

None of these late runners affected the top nine going through to the 90-minute pole shootout from 4.30pm, consisting of: James Hinchcliffe, Will Power, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Helio Castroneves, Ryan Briscoe, Tony Kanaan, Marco Andretti, Josef Newgarden and EJ Viso. Rubens Barrichello was left the first man on the outside looking in.

Update at 8.35pm BST (3.35pm Indiana time):

Practice was brought to an end and qualifying resumed with around 50 minutes to go with Sebastien Bourdais lined up to make his second attempt at qualifying after waiving off his first run. He completed his run with an aggregate lap speed of 222.415mph to get into the top 24.

His run was followed by a new attempt by the #99 of Wade Cunningham who had withdrawn his earlier time in order to make a new run. His new run gained an average lap time of 223.134mph to go into 19th place, a considerable improvement on his earlier withdrawn lap of 221.514mph.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ryan Briscoe in the #2 Penske Chevrolet during pre-season testing at Sebring. March 2012. [Photo Credit: Michael Levitt - LAT for IndyCar Media]
Helio Castroneves testing the new speedway specification aerokits at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in April. [Picture credit: Ryan Briscoe/Twitter]
Ryan Briscoe. [Picture credit: IndyCar Media]
Sebastian Saavedra celebrates with his team after bumping his way into the field during qualifying for the 2012 Indianapolis 500. 12-27 May, 2012, Indianapolis, Indiana, USA. (c) 2012, Michael L. Levitt LAT Photo USA (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Charlie Kimball
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones feature
IndyCar, Dallara 2018 chassis, [Credit: IndyCar]
Graham Rahal Detroit celebration
Detroit IndyCar race start
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Esteban Gutierrez IndyCar Detroit
Graham Rahal Detroit IndyCar 2017

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Andrew - Unregistered

May 20, 2012 12:41 AM

The Indy 500 qualifying process is a seriously arcane process, but basically: what was decided today was the top 24 positions. Everyone else who was bumped out of the top 24 now starts from scratch and gets a chance to make brand new qualifying attempts on Sunday. If there were more than 33 cars then drivers would have a sleepless night looking at fighting to get onto the grid. But as there are exactly 33 cars this year, everyone should make it and Sunday is merely about the relative positions of those remaining nine cars on the back three rows.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.