IndyCar »

Dario nets $2.47m, Rubens wins rookie title

"I'm a rookie," he laughed. "I'm sitting here because I'm a rookie. I have 'Rubens Barrichello, Rookie'!" to which Tony Kanaan replied: "The oldest rookie we've ever seen." Barrichello turned 40 on May 23, just four days before the big race.

The awards and cheques were handed out at the traditional Monday night Indy 500 banquet event celebrating one of the most successful runnings of the 'greatest spectacle in motor sport' seen in recent years.

"Congratulations, that was the best Indy 500 I've ever seen," NASCAR Sprint Cup champion and former IndyCar series champion Tony Stewart said in a text to IndyCar CEO Randy Bernard after the race.

"We've never raced that well in the seven times I've run here and I've never experienced such a fun race with so much passing," agreed Ryan Briscoe, the polesitter for Sunday's race. "It had to be a pretty good show for the fans."

"It was wild, it was intense, it was hot and it was fun," summed up race winner Dario Franchitti.

Prize money

1. #50 Dario Franchitti Ganassi Honda $2,474,280
2. #9 Scott Dixon Ganassi Honda $1,102,280
3. #11 Tony Kanaan KV Racing Chevrolet $636,580
4. #22 Oriol Servia Panther/DRR Chevrolet $443,430
5. #2 Ryan Briscoe Penske Chevrolet $489,930
6. #27 James Hinchcliffe Andretti Chevrolet $357,680
7. #18 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne Honda $303,430
8. #83 Charlie Kimball Ganassi Honda $277,655
9. #99 Townsend Bell Sam Schmidt Honda $251,305
10. #3 Helio Castroneves Penske Chevrolet $308,930
11. #8 Rubens Barrichello KV Racing Chevrolet $331,080
12. #98 Alex Tagliani Bryan Herta Honda $252,205
13. #38 Graham Rahal Ganassi Honda $306,680
14. #4 JR Hildebrand Panther Chevrolet $306,680
15. #19 James Jakes Dale Coyne Honda $252,555
16. #77 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt-Hamilton Honda $303,680
17. #15 Takuma Sato Rahal Letterman Lanigan Honda $301,755
18. #5 EJ Viso KV Racing Chevrolet $303,430
19. #30 Michel Jourdain Jr. Rahal Letterman Lanigan Honda $253,305
20. #7 Sebastien Bourdais Dragon Chevrolet $252,805
21. #20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Chevrolet $304,930
22. #6 Katherine Legge Dragon Chevrolet $303,680
23. #25 Ana Beatriz Andretti-Conquest Chevrolet $252,805
24. #26 Marco Andretti Andretti Chevrolet $368,480
25. #67 Josef Newgarden Sarah Fisher Hartman Honda $257,805
26. #17 Sebastian Saavedra AFS-Andretti Chevrolet $256,305
27. #28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Chevrolet $346,680
28. #12 Will Power Penske Chevrolet $310,430
29. #14 Mike Conway AJ Foyt Honda $305,430
30. #39 Bryan Clauson Sarah Fisher Hartman Honda $258,055
31. #41 Wade Cunningham AJ Foyt Honda $251,555
32. #78 Simona de Silvestro HVM Lotus $303,430
33. #64 Jean Alesi Fan Force United Lotus $251,555

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Rubens Barrichello wins the Chase Rookie of the Year Award at the 2012 IndyCar Indy 500 Race Awards Banquet in Indianapolis on May 28. (c) 2012, Phillip G. Abbott. LAT Photo USA. (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Rubens Barrichello with his Indianapolis 500 Rookie of the Year award. (Photo Credit: Rubens Barrichello/Twitter)
Race winner Dario Franchitti gets a standing ovation at the 2012 IndyCar Indy 500 Race Awards Banquet in Indianapolis on May 28. (c) 2012, Michael L. Levitt. LAT Photo USA. (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Charlie Kimball
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones feature
IndyCar, Dallara 2018 chassis, [Credit: IndyCar]
Graham Rahal Detroit celebration
Detroit IndyCar race start
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Esteban Gutierrez IndyCar Detroit
Graham Rahal Detroit IndyCar 2017
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

JJJ - Unregistered

May 30, 2012 3:03 PM

So the payout structure is kinda like a poker tournament where everyone who makes it to the grid is in the money and the top 3 get the real payouts. I would very much like to know how much it does cost to get a car into the race. I imagine for this year it would have been quite costly, but in the future more of these new chassis will be built and just like with the old one you'll be able to lease one with an engine deal just for one race...Also, they're probably going to race this chassis for years to come so unlike F1 if you buy the car you can race it multiple years... It's actually a pretty cool aspect of US racing.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.