IndyCar »

Andretti tops second 'qualifying' practice

A big surprise of the session was the form of Takuma Sato, last year's pole sitter, who was struggling to find any pace during the session and spent most of the 45 minutes a second off the top time. He improved on his very last run to just outside half a second of Marco's target time but that was still mired back in 24th place just ahead of HVM's Simona de Silvestro.

But that incident-free 45 minute session still does not finalise any grid position just yet, only which heat they will now take place in. Despite his untouchable time in both practice sessions, Marco Andretti could still end up lining up in eighth place on the grid, while Sato could yet boost himself up to tenth plac eon the grid should bhe win the first of the evening's heats.

Regardless of where they qualify in the heat races, Ganassi's Graham Rahal now joins KV Racing Technology duo Tony Kanaan and EJ Viso in having to serve ten-place starting grid penalties for engine changes.

Each heat race on Friday evening will consist of 30 laps; at the qualifying speeds of around 17.5s per lap, that means that each heat could be complete in under ten minutes if there are no cautions.

Heat 1
Will set positions 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22 and 24 on the grid.

1. Graham Rahal
2. Josef Newgarden
3. EJ Viso
4. JR Hildebrand
5. Oriol Servia
6. Mike Conway
7. Ed Carpenter
8. Takuma Sato

Heat 2
Will set positions 9, 11, 13, 15, 17, 19, 21, 23 and 25 on the grid.

1. Rubens Barrichello
2. Alex Tagliani
3. Justin Wilson
4. Tony Kanaan
5. James Jakes
6. Charlie Kimball
7. Simon Pagenaud
8. Katherine Legge
9. Simona de Silvestro

Heat 3
Will set positions 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8 on the grid.

1. Marco Andretti
2. Dario Franchitti
3. Helio Castroneves
4. Will Power
5. Ryan Briscoe
6. James Hinchcliffe
7. Ryan Hunter-Reay
8. Scott Dixon

Full practice 2 times and positions available.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Marco Andretti #26 Team RC Cola Andretti Autosport during practice for the 96th running of the Indianapolis 500. 12-27 May, 2012, Indianapolis, Indiana, USA. (c) 2012 Dan R. Boyd, LAT Photo USA (Photo credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Marco Andretti. (c) 2012, Michael L. Levitt, LAT Photo USA (Photo credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Graham Rahal Detroit celebration
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Graham Rahal Detroit IndyCar 2017
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar
Graham Rahal Detroit
Detroit IndyCar Helio Castroneves
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Sebastien Bourdais Indy 500 practice
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500 winner`s circle
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500
Helio Castroneves 2017 Indy 500 practice
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 qualifying

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.