IndyCar »

Pagenaud starts off quick in Edmonton

Simon Pagenaud continued to shine in his rookie IZOD IndyCar Series season, putting his sportscar experience to good use to set the fastest time of first practice for the Edmonton Indy.
Simon Pagenaud ended up the fastest man after first practice on the 2.24-mile, 13-turn temporary circuit constructed at Edmonton City Centre Airport for this weekend's Edmonton Indy Sunday afternoon race.

The hour long session under overcast skies was divided into two halves, with the first half hour limited to those drivers listed as rookies or outside the top ten in the IZOD IndyCar Series championship That meant that the earliest fast laps were set by the likes of Justin Wilson, Graham Rahal, Alex Tagliani, Takuma Sato, EJ Viso, Ed Carpenter and Rubens Barrichello.

Simona de Silvestro hit early problems when she was ordered to the pits after reports about the rear of her car emitting smoke, but she was able to resume running again soon after. There were no significant incidents in the first 30 minutes other than brief common-place run-offs and recoveries, with turn 5 being the most notably problematic spot on the track.

The first half of the session concluded with Josef Newgarden fastest with a lap of 1:17.1461s, eight hundredths of a second faster than Simon Pagenaud, after which the top names of the series joined the fray for the second half of the session. They had a relatively quiet time of it, with Dario Franchitti taking 15 minutes before becoming the first of them to move into the top ten times, slipping into second with a lap of 1:17.1985s by which time just one second covered the top 19 positions.

Josef Newgarden was finally ousted from the top spot in a late five minute rush of fast laps which saw Simon Pagenaud set a new top time of 1:16.8366, 0.3918s ahead of Mike Conway and significantly faster than last year's pole time of 1:18.5165s set by Sato. Justin Wilson moved into third as the only other driver to duck into the 1:16s; Graham Rahal also managed to nose ahead of Newgarden, who ended up fifth place just ahead of Ganassi duo Dario Franchitti and Scott Dixon.

However it seemed that many of the expected front runners were keeping their powder dry in this early session and perhaps focusing on long race set-ups rather than raw pace: Ryan Briscoe was the top Penske runner in 12th with Helio Castroneves in 16th and Will Power lounging in 21st, just ahead of his main rival for the championship Ryan Hunter-Reay, who finished in 22nd in the Andretti Autosport #28.

There continued to be no significant incidents requiring a red flag during the practice, although Hunter-Reay came close to clipping the back of James Jakes in the Dale Coyne Racing #19 toward the end of the session, and turn 1 became the new problem zone with many drivers finding it difficult to calibrate their braking points and going for brief overruns as they continued to get the measure of the track.

There is a second hour-long practice session at 2.30pm local time, 9.30pm BST on Friday evening, with a third on Saturday morning ahead of the afternoon qualifying session. The forecast suggests a chance of rain on Saturday, but bright and sunny conditions on Sunday for the race.

Full practice 1 times available.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Simon Pagenaud in the #77 Schmidt-Hamilton Motorsports Honda during pre-season testing at Sebring. March 2012. [Photo Credit: Michael Levitt - LAT for IndyCar Media]
Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske) celebrates winning the 2016 IndyCar title with victory at Sonoma   [pic credit: Chris Owens]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens]
Will Power - Team Penske
Graham Rahal celebrates victory in the Firestone 600 at Texas Motor Speedway   (image credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Owens)
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Team Penske   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Justin Wilson tribute at Pocono   [pic credit: Indycar media/Chris Owens]
Ed Jones - Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
Simon Penske - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar media/Bret Kelley]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Joe Skibinski]
Josef Newgarden - Ed Carpenter Racing   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Shawn Gritzmacher]
Will Power - Penske  [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Will Power - Penske   [pic credit: IndyCar Media/Chris Jones]
Josef Newgarden - Ed Carpenter Racing [credit: Chris Jones]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske   [image credit: IndyCar Media/Bret Kelley]
Simon Pagenaud - Team Penske

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.