IndyCar »

Hunter-Reay wins, and loses, Edmonton pole

Ryan Hunter-Reay set the fastest pole time in a rain-hit Edmonton qualifying, but an engine penalty will see him start the race from 11th and leave Dario Franchitti in the top spot.
Dario Franchitti wasn't able to win his fourth consecutive pole position of the season for tomorrow's Edmonton Indy, but he will nonetheless still start from the top spot in the race thanks to an engine change penalty that will demote the fastest man in qualifying - Ryan Hunter-Reay - out of the top ten.

Increasingly gloomy skies and strengthening winds around Edmonton City Center Airport made it plain going in that rain was not far away from the 2.24-mile, 13-turn temporary circuit, as qualifying got underway for Sunday's race. While the first round of qualifying escaped the showers, the rain came down before round 2 and was a big factor right through to the end - throwing up a number of surprises along the way.

The session followed the standard road and street course format, which saw half the field running in the first 15 minute Group 1 and the other half in Group 2. After a five minute pause, the top six from each group progressed to the ten-minute Top 12 session, with the top six from that round then going through to the pole shootout Firestone Fast Six round.

Full qualifying times from all three rounds are available.

Round 1 - Group 1

The first part of qualifying featured Scott Dixon, Simon Pagenaud, Alex Tagliani, Justin Wilson, Will Power, Josef Newgarden, Marco Andretti, Ryan Briscoe, Takuma Sato, Charlie Kimball, JR Hildebrand and Simona Silvestro.

As is usually the case in IZOD IndyCar Series qualifying, there were no takers for a completely clear track for the first five minutes of the 15 minute session. In the end, Simona de Silvestro was the first car to break cover and head out, and it was more than another two minutes before she was joined by the rest of the field.

Will Power went top with his first flying lap, setting a time of 1:16.9588s that was quickly beaten by Josef Newgarden's response of 1:16.7646s and then by Ryan Briscoe moving the goalposts up to 1:16.4518s. Power responded with the quickest laps of the weekend including a phenomenal 1:15.9508s to put him a quarter of a second ahead of local hero Alex Tagliani, and was w whopping 2.6 seconds quicker than the 2011 pole time set by Sato.

Both Power and Tagliani understandably felt safe with those performances and came back into pit lane with a minute left on the clock, leaving the rest of the field to carry on without them. Sato and Briscoe also soon booked their way through to the next round while Scott Dixon was also safe in fifth, leaving Simon Pagenaud to narrowly hold off Justin Wilson and Josef Newgarden for the final spot.

Round 1 - Group 2

The second group featured Helio Castroneves, Mike Conway, James Hinchcliffe, Dario Frachitti, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Rubens Barrichello, Graham Rahal, Tony Kanaan, EJ Viso, James Jakes, Sebastien Bourdais, Oriol Servia and Ed Carpenter.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ryan Hunter-Reay. July 6-9, 2012. Toronto, Ontario, Canada. (c) 2012 Perry Nelson (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Edmonton Indy Pole Winner Ryan Hunter-Reay with pole award. (c) 2012, Michael L. Levitt. (PHoto Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500 winner`s circle
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500
Indy 500, IndyCar, Takuma Sato
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 qualifying
Ed Carpenter Indy 500 qualifying
Pippa Mann Indy 500 qualifying
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Will Power Indy 500 practice

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.