Voting is now closed!

What do you mean, you didn't get around to voting for the 2012 IndyCar Driver of the Year yet? It's too late now, unfortunately - the ballot is closed and the votes are already being counted up as we speak.

Your favourite drivers needed your support if they were to stand a chance to come out on top. Ryan Hunter-Reay might have clinched the championship in a thrilling season finale at Fontana which saw Will Power crash out of contention for the second year running, but maybe it's one of the other drivers who you reckon did a better job in 2012 - Rubens Barrichello, perhaps? Or James Hinchcliffe, Sebastien Bourdais or Ed Carpenter?

We really wanted to know which of the 26 drivers in this year's championship caught your eye the most. Voters simply went through each of the drivers and decided on a score for each of them from one (poor) to ten (excellent) dependent upon how impressed you were (or weren't) with their performances this year.

How you made your decision was up to you - if you reckoned Simona de Silvestro deserved more recognition for all that she was able to do in the sole Lotus entry than rookie of the year Simon Pagenaud, then that was absolutely your call.

We'll be unveiling the top ten as determined by the final average score of each driver over the holidays and you'll soon be able to find out if you agree with the final rankings.

In the meantime, you can still share your thoughts and opinions on the drivers and why you voted the way you did simply by clicking on the 'Post your comments' link below.