IndyCar »

IndyCar Driver of the Year vote: 2nd

You voted Will Power into 2nd place in's IndyCar Driver of the Year 2012 poll!
Top 10 IndyCar Driver of the Year 2012:
2. Will Power

Birthplace: Toowoomba, Australia
Birthdate: March 1, 1981
Team: Team Penske
2012 starts: 15
Poles: 5
Wins: 3
Top 5: 7
Top 10: 10
Championship points: 465
Championship position: 2nd IndyCar Driver of 2011 position: 2nd

And the runner-up is ... Yes, it's Will Power. It's always Will Power in the runner-up spot. The number '2' must be the Australian's least favourite digit in the entire world after three consecutive years of having to accept second best in the IZOD IndyCar Series championship and now twice the bridesmaid in the (surely vastly more prestigious) IndyCar Driver of the Year vote.

It started off so well with three wins in the first four races of the year - although looking back, the disappointing seventh place in the season opener at St Petersberg arguably cost him the championship. Once again it was the oval events that proved to be his Achilles Heel, and this time he also suffered from bad luck at subsequent road and street courses that normally would have been his for the taking.

Even so, he went into the season finale ahead in the points. All he had to do was not repeat the error of past seasons and crash out at Fontana. And what he did was ... Crash. The Penske team performed mechanical heroics to try and get the car back into any sort of state to get back out on the track, but it was ultimately to no avail and Power had to watch from pit road as Ryan Hunter-Reay did just enough to clinch the title by a mere three points. It must have been heartbreaking for the Aussie, but the way he immediately and warmly congratulated the new champion after the race was true class and impressed a whole new swathe of fans.

They'll be backing him to go one better and finally get the title in 2013. He deserves it at last, surely?

But now that we know Power didn't win, who has come top of the Driver of the Year poll? Find out tomorrow!

Top 10 IndyCar Driver of the Year 2012 results so far:
2. Will Power
3. Simon Pagenaud
4. Scott Dixon
5. James Hinchcliffe
6. Helio Castroneves
7. Sebastien Bourdais
8. Takuma Sato
9. Justin Wilson
10. Dario Franchitti

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Will Power with the Honda Indy 200 pole award after qualifying at Mid-Ohio. (c) 2012  Michael L. Levitt (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Will Power on track at the Mid Ohio Sports Car Course ahead of the Honda Indy 200. (c) 2012  Michael L. Levitt (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Will Power leads Scott Dixon during the IZOD IndyCar Series Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course on August 5 2012. (c) 2012, Phillip Abbott. (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Winner Will Power takes the chequered flag and the win at the end of the Sao Paulo Indy 300 in Brazil. (c) 2012, Michael L. Levitt, LAT Photo USA. Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA
12-15 April, 2012, Long Beach, California, USA. Winner Will Power. (c) 2012, Michael L. Levitt.LAT Photo USA. [Photo credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA]
13-15 April, 2012, Long Beach, California, USA. James Hinchcliffe, Will Power and Simon Pagenaud wave to the fans on the victory lap. (c) 2012, Lesley Ann Miller. LAT Photo USA. [Photo credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA]
Champion Ryan Hunter-Reay is congratulated by runner-up Will Power after the MAVTV 500 IndyCar World Championship season finale at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, California. (c) 2012, Michael L. Levitt (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Will Power jumps for joy in victory lane after the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama at Barber Motorsports Park on April 1 2012. [Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA (c) 2012, Phillip Abbott. LAT Photo USA]
IZOD IndyCar Series driver Will Power (#12 Team Penske) (c) 2012 Michael L. Levitt, LAT Photo (Photo credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Will Power Texas
Charlie Kimball
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones
Ed Jones feature
Ed Jones feature
IndyCar, Dallara 2018 chassis, [Credit: IndyCar]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

David Chaste - Unregistered

December 31, 2012 3:18 PM

The whole team did not rally around him to get him the championship. At Andretti they used every sources they had to get Hunter-Reay the title. Andretti was more like ferrari and Penske more like Mclaren, in team dynamics. Had it been JAmes Hinchcliffe who took the lead from Ryan Hunter-Reay at Infineon the team would have made him give it up lead. Yet at Penske they let it go. Bad decision. The team should have realized that he needs all the points he can on road courses. I just couldn't bear watching Briscoe finishing in front of him at Infineon, I almost knew his title was in jepopardy.

Luke - Unregistered

December 31, 2012 12:13 AM

Allthough he is clearly the most talented driver on the field, the way he translates that into points is dreadful, for that alone he would be out of the top ten. But if we ever see him hook up a solid year everyone else will be blown to the side with ease.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.