IndyCar »

Barrichello, Kanaan sign up for Rolex 24 Hours At Daytona

Rubens Barrichello and Tony Kanaan will be among an increasing number of past and present IndyCar stars hoping to shine at this year's GRAND-AM's Rolex 24 Hours At Daytona.
Rubens Barrichello and his best friend in motor sport Tony Kanaan will be team mates once again in 2013 when they join up as co-drivers of the Dener Motorsport #21 Challenge Brazil Porsche GT3 in the 51st GRAND-AM Rolex 24 Hours At Daytona later this month.

Barrichello - who announced last week that he was leaving the IZOD IndyCar Series after just one year of competition in order to race in the Brazilian Stock Car championship in 2013 (see separate story) - was among those added to the driver list for this weekend's Roar Before the Rolex 24, the final three-day test before the race event itself.

Also added was Tony Kanaan, and former Champ Car and IndyCar star Paul Tracy was a further new addition to the scheduled line-up. The Canadian is listed as a co-driver of the #77 Doran Racing Ford/Dallara with Dr. Jim Lowe, Colin Braun and Jon Bennett. That means Tracy will be in a third-generation DP for the Rolex 24, significantly faster than the GT3-category car that Barrichello and Kanaan will be driving.

Dario Franchitti is also confirmed as racing, taking the wheel of the #02 BMW/Riley for the TELMEX Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates team where he will be joined by his Ganassi IndyCar team mate Scott Dixon as well as NASCAR Sprint Cup stablemate Jamie McMurray.

Franchitti's brother Marino will also be competing in this year's event, rejoining the South Florida team SpeedSource in the #70 Mazda aongside Sylvain Tremblay and Jonathan Bomarito. Other Scots lined up for this year's event include former F1 star Allan McNish and American Le Mans Series driver Ryan Dalziel, teaming up at the wheel of the #2 Starworks Motorsport Ford/Riley with Alex Popow and four-time Champ Car title winner Sebastien Bourdais.

“I have found contesting the Rolex 24 is a very good way to focus on the coming season after the winter break," said McNish, explaining why an increasing number of top drivers from around the world are seeking a seat in the event. "It allows me to 'shake off the cobwebs' and, although a 24 hour race is a hard way to start the year, it's very good in terms of physical fitness and a race mentality point of view."

Team Sahlen has signed up experienced sportscar endurance driver and 2012 IndyCar rookie of the year Simon Pagenaud to make his Daytona 24 Hours début for them, putting him alongside Champ Car veteran Bruno Junquiera in the team's #42 Riley-BMW. The other drivers sharing the seat will be Wayne Nonnamaker and Dane Cameron.

"Team Sahlen is showing great promise and together we will face a fantastic challenge," said Pagenaud. "I want to thank them for giving me the opportunity to compete in the Rolex 24 At Daytona for the first time."

Juan Pablo Montoya - former star of Champ Car and F1, and now competing in the NASCAR Sprint Cup championship - will rejoin Scott Pruett in the #01 TELMEX/Target BMW/Riley fielded by Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates along with Memo Rojas and IndyCar's Charlie Kimball, who takes over the seat previously occupied by Graham Rahal who has since left the Ganassi team.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Justin Wilson celebrates in Victory Lane after the Firestone 550 at Texas Motor Speedway in Fort Worth, USA. June 9 2012. (c) 2012, Phil Abbott LAT Photo USA (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Rubens Barrichello (#8) during the 2012 IndyCar Indy 500 Rookie Orientation Program at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on May 10, 2012. (c) 2012 F. Peirce Williams (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Rubens Barrichello with Tony Kanaan at the press conference in Sao Paulo announcing his move to IndyCar for 2012. [Pictire Credit: KV Racing Technology]
Scott Dixon Road America
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Charlie Kimball
Graham Rahal Detroit celebration
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Graham Rahal Detroit IndyCar 2017
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar
Graham Rahal Detroit
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500 winner`s circle
Takuma Sato 2017 Indy 500
Max Chilton Indy 500 2017
Max Chilton Indy 500 2017
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.