IndyCar »

Doubleheader details confirm standing starts

"There certainly is a lot more for the fans to experience,” Barfield said about the doubleheader events in 2013. “We took that one step further and decided to introduce some of other activities for our race programs that we've been considering for the past few years.”

Barfield also said that the series would be introducing changes to qualifying rules across all street and road circuits starting with the season opener in St Petersburg in March.

In 2012, teams could only use one set of tyres during each of the three segments of the elimination qualifying process, but in 2013 teams will have full control over what tyres they use and when - although using more tyres in qualifying will reduce the number of sets of fresh tyres for the race.

And the duration of the first round of the elimination qualifying will be reduced from 15 minutes to ten in line with the second and third rounds. That's after it was clear that many teams were waiting for up to seven minutes in the opening session for other cars to come out and lay down some rubber before venturing out themselves, leading to a lengthy delay for TV audiences as well as spectators at trackside.

Standing starts process

  • A “drivers to your cars” command will be given via radio by Race Control.

  • A “drivers in your cars” command will be given via radio by Race Control.

  • A 3-minute announcement will be made by Race Control at which time only three crew members may remain with each race car.

  • The “drivers start your engines” command will be given via Race Control.

  • The Safety Car will roll and the drivers will follow in single file, starting order.
Formation lap
  • During the formation lap, drivers will remain in starting order with no overtaking and the speed will be set by the Safety Car. Coming to a complete stop to undertake practice starts is prohibited.
Starting Grid
  • At the end of the formation lap, the Safety Car will pull away from the field and the field will take their starting positions. The front wheels of the car must remain behind the grid line.

  • A 5-second announcement will be made via radio by Race Control prior to the start of the light sequence.

  • The red lights will illuminate one by one.

  • The race starts once all red lights go out.

  • A false start shall be declared when a race car moves forward or is out of its assigned position during the light sequence.

  • A penalty will be imposed for a false start judged by the Officials. Decisions by the Officials are not subject to protest and appeal.

  • An Official may be stationed at each light on the starting grid. A waving yellow flag by this Official is an advisory of a disabled race car.
In The Event of An Aborted Start
  • If the start is aborted, the yellow lights will illuminate. Instructions will be given to teams via the radio. The starting procedure may be abandoned and the Safety Car will be dispatched. Any competitors whose actions result in an aborted start will restart from the rear of the field.
Timing and Scoring
  • The timing of the race and all scoring shall commence when the light sequence is completed.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ryan Hunter-Reay leads the last restart in the Grand Prix of Baltimore (c) 2012 Michael L. Levitt (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Penske`s Will Power takes the green flag and crosses the start finish line at the start of the GoPro Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma. (c) 2012, Michael L. Levitt. (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Scott Dixon leads at the start of the Chevrolet Detroit Belle Isle Grand Prix. 1-3 June, 2012, Detroit, Michigan (c) 2012, Michael L. Levitt LAT Photo USA (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Ryan Hunter-Reay tries to pass Will Power on a restart in the Sao Paulo Indy 300 in Brazil. (c) 2012, Michael L. Levitt, LAT Photo USA. Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA
After a restart, Simon Pagenaud (#77) leads Scott Dixon (#9), Alex Tagliani (#98), Michel Jourdain, Jr. (#30), Dario Franchitti (#50), Sebastian Saavedra (#17), Ryan Hunter-Reay (#28), Graham Rahal (#38), Charlie Kimball (#83) and Helio Castroneves (#3) into turn one. 96th Indianapolis 500 - Indianapolis Motor Speedway - 27 May 2012. (c) 2012, F. Peirce Williams. LAT Photo USA (Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA)
Winner Will Power leads into the first turn at the start of the Sao Paulo Indy 300 in Brazil. (c) 2012, Michael L. Levitt, LAT Photo USA. Photo Credit: INDYCAR/LAT USA
Graham Rahal Detroit celebration
Detroit IndyCar race start
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Esteban Gutierrez IndyCar Detroit
Graham Rahal Detroit IndyCar 2017
Takuma Sato Detroit IndyCar
Graham Rahal Detroit
Detroit Indy Conor Daly
Detroit IndyCar Helio Castroneves
Indy 500 2017 start
Fernando Alonso, IndyCar, Barber Motorsports Park,
Josef Newgarden, Penske, IndyCar, Barber Motorsports Park

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

BASTA PASTA - Unregistered

January 23, 2013 1:58 PM

...bravo Beau...we should witness drivers and teams versatility...increase viewers captivation time...thus, increasing standing still image exposure (sponsor's delight)...?

Sir Charles - Unregistered

January 23, 2013 11:16 PM

The recent changes made have been very good. I especially like the changes to race lengths to eliminate fuel savings. Can't wait for the new season. I'll be going to Long Beach and Iowa.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.