IndyCar »

Barber - Practice 1 times

IndyCar rookie driver Tristan Vautier set the fastest time in the first practice session at Barber Motorsports Park on Friday afternoon.
After a strong début in the IZOD indyCar Series in the season opener at St Petersburg a fortnight ago, Schmidt-Peterson's Tristan Vautier confirmed that it had been no fluke by topping the times in the first practice session for the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama.

The Frenchman set a time of 1:09.0120s on the 2.38-mile, 17-turn Barber Motorsports Park and was 0.0526s faster than Ganassi's Scott Dixon. However, Vautier was also the cause of the sole red flag of the one-hour session when he ran off into the sand with five minutes remaining.

"We didn't damage the car or anything, but they didn't put me back on track, they parked me behind the barriers," he said. "It's my mistake in the end, even if it's frustrating that I couldn't get back in the end. My mistake, but we had good speed before that and the car felt good, so it's tough."

The reigning series champion Ryan Hunter-Reay was third fastest for Andretti Autosport ahead of Charlie Kimball, Will Power and Dario Franchitti. In his first outing in the IndyCar Series, AJ Allmendinger finished with the ninth fastest time less than four tenths off Vautier's benchmark. In all, the top 22 cars were covered by less than a second, and the spread of Honda and Chevrolet-powered cars was remarkably even compared with the early Chevy domination at St Pete.

The slowest time of the first session was that of Ana Beatriz, whose place in the Dale Coyne Racing seat has been confirmed through to Indianapolis after Stefan Wilson was unable to clinch the deal that would have seen him move up from Firestone Indy Lights to race the 2013 road and street course events alongside his older brother Justin.

Practice 1 times

1. #55 Tristan Vautier (H) 119.979mph 1:09.0120s (16 laps)
2. #9 Scott Dixon (H) 119.888mph 1:09.0646s + 0.0526s (11 laps)
3. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay (C) 119.668mph 1:09.1917s + 0.1797s (21 laps)
4. #83 Charlie Kimball (H) 119.515mph 1:09.2798s + 0.2678s (19 laps)
5. #12 Will Power (C) 119.514mph 1:09.2806s + 0.2686s (23 laps)
6. #10 Dario Franchitti (H) 119.501mph 1:09.2883s + 0.2763s (26 laps)
7. #78 Simona de Silvestro (C) 119.412mph 1:09.3396s + 0.3276s (10 laps)
8. #77 Simon Pagenaud (H) 119.404mph 1:09.3443s + 0.3323s (20 laps)
9. #2 AJ Allmendinger (C) 119.339mph 1:09.3822s + 0.3702s (22 laps)
10. #3 Helio Castroneves (C) 119.267mph 1:09.4241s + 0.4121s (14 laps)
11. #22 Oriol Servia (C) 119.230mph 1:09.4456s + 0.4336s (21 laps)
12. #16 James Jakes (H) 119.221mph 1:09.4509s + 0.4389s (17 laps)
13. #14 Takuma Sato (H) 119.169mph 1:09.4812s + 0.4692s (16 laps)
14. #11 Tony Kanaan (C) 119.148mph 1:09.4933s + 0.4813s (9 laps)
15. #27 James Hinchcliffe (C) 119.101mph 1:09.5206s + 0.5086s (7 laps)
16. #67 Josef Newgarden (H) 118.845mph 1:09.6703s + 0.6583s (21 laps)
17. #25 Marco Andretti (C) 118.796mph 1:09.6993s + 0.6873s (9 laps)
18. #7 Sebastien Bourdais (C) 118.739mph 1:09.7329s + 0.7209s (21 laps)
19. #98 Alex Tagliani (H) 118.647mph 1:09.7870s + 0.7750s (15 laps)
20. #5 EJ Viso (C) 118.631mph 1:09.7962s + 0.7842s (9 laps)
21. #15 Graham Rahal (H) 118.584mph 1:09.8239s + 0.8119s (13 laps)
22. #19 Justin Wilson (H) 118.454mph 1:09.9008s + 0.8888s (13 laps)
23. #4 JR Hildebrand (C) 118.184mph 1:10.0602s + 1.0482s (21 laps)
24. #6 Sebastian Saavedra (C) 118.113mph 1:10.1026s + 1.0906s (20 laps)
25. #20 Ed Carpenter (C) 116.605mph 1:11.0089s + 1.9969s (24 laps)
26. #18 Ana Beatriz (H) 114.623mph 1:12.2367s + 3.2247s (24 laps)

Total Laps: 442

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Tristan Vautier (Photo Credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
Tristan Vautier at Barber Motorsports Park. (Photo Credit: Bret Kelley for IndyCar Media)
Tristan Vautier at Barber Motorsports Park. (Photo Credit: Chris Jones for IndyCar Media)
Tristan Vautier sparks a red flag at Barber Motorsports Park. (Photo Credit: Bret Kelley for IndyCar Media)
Scott Dixon Road America
Scott Dixon - Chip Ganassi Indy Car [credit: IndyCar TV Twitter]
Detroit IndyCar Andretti RHR
Scott Dixon Indy 500
Sebastien Bourdais Indy 500 practice
Helio Castroneves 2017 Indy 500 practice
Scott Dixon [credit: IndyCar Series]
Scott Dixon Indy 500 qualifying
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice
Sebastien Bourdais Indy 500 practice 2017
Ryan Hunter-Reay Indy 500 practice 2017
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice
Jay Howard Indy 500 practice
Fernando Alonso Indy 500 practice 2

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.